Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Other > Open Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old April 29th, 2006, 09:33 PM
jasonphoto01 jasonphoto01 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 56
Myspace ?

have heard about this and just wanted to know if there was any truth to it... it has to do with whosonmypage.com and the likes.... thanx guys!





"What you're basically doing, is giving someone your IP address.

What an IP address is, is your own computer's unique location in the internet world. If someone knows it, it opens a direct connection between their computer and yours.

Still haven't figured it out yet? IT'S SPYWARE. Basically giving the person unlimited access to your computer and everything in it. Firewalls and Spyware protection doesn't protect against it? Why? BECAUSE YOU YOURSELF SIGN UP FOR THE SITE.

Now granted, that it's a pretty nifty program... letting you see who visits your page and whatnot... but think about it for a second. You can only see who visits your page, if they sign up for the site themselves. Now why is that? BECAUSE THE PROGRAM NEEDS THEIR IP TO BE TRACED ON YOUR PAGE. Make sense?

So, unless you want some schmo going through your ****, deleting whatever they see fit, sending virus'/trojans... basically ****ing up your computer... I HIGHLY suggest you get rid of those things.

If not, don't say I didn't warn you."
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 30th, 2006, 12:23 AM
MSFT MSFT is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
O/S: MacOS
Location: USA
Posts: 112
Yeah, it opens up a direct connection, but it ain't spyware. If you got rid of your IP address, you wouldn't be on any sort of network, and your computer would have no identification. If all your worried about is security, then just make sure you have some sort of firewall.

BTW, I've never heard that one before. IP is spyware, ha.
__________________
"We used to dream about this stuff. Now, we get to build it. It's pretty neat."
-Steve Jobs, WWDC 2004 Keynote
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 30th, 2006, 12:31 AM
oink's Avatar
oink oink is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: S. Fla, USA
Posts: 1,764
The IT guys at my real job hate that site and it has caused many people to lose internet access. They claim it is virus and spyware central.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 30th, 2006, 01:06 AM
dammit's Avatar
dammit dammit is offline
Rampant Rabbit
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New York/Paris/Milan/pie country
Age: 6
Posts: 11,536
Blog Entries: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by oink
The IT guys at my real job hate that site and it has caused many people to lose internet access. They claim it is virus and spyware central.
I agree.... don't go there.
__________________
Founder Member of the CTH Brat Pack. The Divine Leader.
......\\ \ll/ //......
......( @ @ )......
oOOo==(~)==oOOo
You're only young once - but you can be immature for ever. FREEDOM for Smokers.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 30th, 2006, 01:12 AM
jasonphoto01 jasonphoto01 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 56
thanx guys!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 30th, 2006, 05:16 AM
mmherk's Avatar
mmherk mmherk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 379
If you use Firefox, you can get an extension called ''siteadvisor''. There are three colors that it uses to ''grade'' websites...green (safe and very little spam and popups), yellow (use caution), and red (dangerous). I use this extension...and when I visit my myspace page...it is green. I also do regular spyware scans and anti-virus scans as well..have had no problems.
__________________
''I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.'' Philippians 4:3

www.thefudgelady.biz

Always make a new mistake.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 30th, 2006, 05:43 AM
jasonphoto01 jasonphoto01 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 56
its not myspace im worried about its the "www.whosonmypage.com" that concerns me.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old April 30th, 2006, 05:45 AM
mmherk's Avatar
mmherk mmherk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonphoto01
its not myspace im worried about its the "www.whosonmypage.com" that concerns me.

Oops...never heard of that.
__________________
''I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.'' Philippians 4:3

www.thefudgelady.biz

Always make a new mistake.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old April 30th, 2006, 02:09 PM
Snurfen's Avatar
Snurfen Snurfen is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: south Wales
Age: 100
Posts: 7,958
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmherk
If you use Firefox, you can get an extension called ''siteadvisor''. There are three colors that it uses to ''grade'' websites...green (safe and very little spam and popups), yellow (use caution), and red (dangerous). I use this extension...and when I visit my myspace page...it is green. I also do regular spyware scans and anti-virus scans as well..have had no problems.

Thanks for the extension tip

Your last line is key, safe surfing as suggested will certainly reduce risk.
__________________
If we have helped you, please consider supporting Cyber Tech Help with a subscription.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old April 30th, 2006, 02:59 PM
mmherk's Avatar
mmherk mmherk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 379
You are welcome.
__________________
''I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.'' Philippians 4:3

www.thefudgelady.biz

Always make a new mistake.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:27 PM.

[ RSS ]