Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Software > Internet / Browsers

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old September 9th, 2007, 09:08 PM
Don M Don M is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
How can I end unwanted email forwarding from a closed website?

About 12 years ago, I chaired a coalition of local TV broadcasters, captioning agenices, government agencies and agencies for the deaf and the hard of hearing. We set up a website called caltva@robson.org. About 4 years ago we disbanded. Several months ago I began to get porno emails and after reviewing the full message headers I discovered they were being sent to the caltva website, which in turn forwarded the messages to me and two ladies. I have been unsuccessful in contracting the person who set up the website but did look up the website adding "administrator" and got a 404 page that said the website had been closed. But the email forwarding is still active and I want to deactivate it. What can I do considering I am not the website administrator? Having my IPS automatically delete the messages as they come in worked for a while, but now the contents vary widely so trying to weed out emails by topic no longer works. I need to stop the email forwarding at the source.

Thanks.

Don M
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 11th, 2007, 02:42 PM
netwizz's Avatar
netwizz netwizz is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 29
Thumbs up Hmm .. Weird

Now the question here is the porno emails are legitimate subscriptions or merely nasty spams. At times there are genuine porn websites which will send you porn content but only if you subscribed to get them in your email. You cannot call it nonsense coz they send it only because you've asked for it. In that case at the bottom of the email they write a DISCLAIMER: Stating you are receiving this email because you subscribed. to unsubscribe click here .. bla bla bla .. i am sure you are getting a hing of what i am aiming at ...

but if this is a serious nasty spam problem then it needs solutions. I dont understand if you've closed the website, how is it still receiving emails. Did you own the website robson.org? who was managing it? who was web designer / administrator?

i tried to do an email test to the email address caltva@robson.org and it is successful which means the mail server functionality is still active.

HERE R THE EMAIL TEST RESULTS FOR YOUR REVIEW:

Host: inbound.registeredsite.com. (this receives your mails)
Preference: 10
IP: 64.224.219.122 [US]


Host: smtp.robson.org. (this sends)
Preference:20
IP:209.15.161.90 [US]

You need to write to the domain authority of robson.org to stop this menace
if you need the details of where to contact, please let me know. Will find out the contact person for robson.org and let you know right away. am not posting it here directly without your permission. do let me know. thanks & regards

God bless us all! Amen!!!
NetWizz
techhelp@nikspace.org
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:21 PM.

[ RSS ]