Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Software > Applications

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old February 28th, 2008, 09:43 PM
inquisitive inquisitive is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 98
OEM software ... is it proper to buy??

hello

was looking to purchase certain adobe software packages.... then found a site offering these packages as greatly reduced prices.... the software is said to be OEM and so is for one computer.

does anyone know if this is proper option?

thanks
Inq
__________________
I know software to be the bit you can use.
I know hardware to be the bit you can kick.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 29th, 2008, 03:32 AM
Murray S.'s Avatar
Murray S. Murray S. is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2004
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Age: 53
Posts: 12,267
Howdy:

What is the name of the site?

Murray
__________________
Microsoft MVP 2008: 2009: Windows - Shell/User

Please do not PM me or email me asking for support. Post on the forums instead so everyone can gain from the solution.

Patience is a virtue--yes your problem is urgent, but so are the problems of the other members.

Our time spent at CTH is free, but hosting CTH costs money.
Help us help you, and donate here.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 29th, 2008, 03:56 AM
Gnomad Gnomad is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 309
I am 99% sure that Adobe does not have an OEM version. Places that sell it are selling you pirated versions of the software. Of course there is that 1% chance that I could be wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 29th, 2008, 01:37 PM
inquisitive inquisitive is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 98
The website we've found is:

http://www.cheap-office-software.com/

Not sure about the OEM concept anyway.... but the bit we were warey of, is there seems not to have any 'revealed' business contact info.

any thoughts / knowledge on subject
thanks
Inq
__________________
I know software to be the bit you can use.
I know hardware to be the bit you can kick.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 2nd, 2008, 12:46 AM
rwt325 rwt325 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Virginia
Age: 75
Posts: 124
My advice is keep away from it!. Based on my own experience a few years ago. Bought an office program, came with all the labels and a key. Installed it , it worked for a few days, then would not start-up. I tried to re-install it, but when I entered the key that came with it, got a message: "Wrong Key".
__________________
Dimension C521; Athlon x 2; 2 GB RAM; Vista Ultimate 32 bit; 320 GB HD;
DSL connection;; Eset Smart Security v3; Spyware Doctor; Windows Defender; Spyware Blaster; Acronis True Image v11.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 2nd, 2008, 01:43 AM
photolady photolady is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 10,930
And I'm 100% sure Adobe doesn't have OEM software. It's all retail. If this site is offering OEM, it could be burned to a cd by them or their cohorts and totally illegal. As has already been stated, stay away from them.
__________________
Have some patience (20 minutes to an hour is not enough time to get an answer) and yes, your question is important, but so is everyone else's

Please don't PM me for help or answers. I won't answer them. Please don't PM me to ask me to look at your thread/problem. Read the above.
Everest Free version
Appreciate Cyber Tech Help? Subscriptions are available!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 2nd, 2008, 11:46 AM
inquisitive inquisitive is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 98
Thanks for thoughts.

I would agree with 'stay away' principle. If it is not selling genuine stuff then we would be part of the rip off to adobe if purchased... and prob be ripped off ourselves by vendor if software doent 'take' to working (as mentioned).

The fact that the site hides contact details within itself was the uncomfortable realisation that this site maybe 'unaccountable' and therefore not a fair player in commerce. As nothing has been said to settle concerns then we'll steer clear.

Thanks
Inq
__________________
I know software to be the bit you can use.
I know hardware to be the bit you can kick.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:37 AM.

[ RSS ]