PDA

View Full Version : Received this email from AIM, need advice please.


kkcruiser
October 15th, 2004, 04:02 PM
Hi,

I received the following email, and have a few questions. Thought I'd post it here, before I do something dumb...like click on the link ;) My question is, is this for real, or if I do click on the unsubscribe will I get into hot water, like someone will be using my email addy for who knows what?

Thanks for any advise and suggestions.

Signed...kkcruiser/Christine...not hotsalsaman33

AIM Registration Confirmation" <confirm_4_57c119342909309c5b41cd08806d442e324bf68e ec9d0d53de687ca6ae1d9368_hotsalsaman33@newman.osca r.aol.com> Add to Address Book
To: kkcruiser@yahoo.com
Subject: Confirming Your AOL Instant Messenger Registration
Date: Thu, 14 Oct 2004 20:18:54 EDT


Hello hotsalsaman33:

Thanks for registering for AOL® Instant MessengerTM.

To start enjoying all the benefits of AIM, simply click on the link below and sign in to validate your e-mail address and registration with AOL® Instant MessengerTM.

http://aim.com/registration/confirm.adp?sn=hotsalsaman33&cookie=_4_57c119342909309c5b41cd08806d442e324bf68e ec9d0d53de687ca6ae1d9368_hotsalsaman33&addr=kkcruiser@yahoo.com

It’s important that you confirm your e-mail address so we can e-mail your password should you forget it.

************************************************** *****
Exclusive Offer for AOL Instant Messenger Members -
Free Trial!
http://free.aol.com/tryaolfree/index.adp?472613

AOL 9.0 Optimized lets you express yourself and have fun
online with:
- Faster Web surfing using TopSpeedTM Technology**
- New SuperBuddyTM Icons for your IM
- Enhanced pop-up and e-mail spam filtering tools
- The latest music, movies and games

Join our family of over 34 million satisfied customers
with this Free Trial!
http://free.aol.com/tryaolfree/index.adp?472613
************************************************** *****

We hope you enjoy AIM for many years to come. Welcome aboard!

The AOL ® Instant MessengerTM Team

If you did not set up this account, or if you do not wish to receive any additional AOL ® Instant MessengerTM promotions via e-mail, simply click mailto:unsubscribe_AIM@member.aim.com You only need to send a blank e-mail to unsubscribe.

SuperBuddy and TopSpeed are trademarks of America Online, Inc. © 2003 America Online, Inc. All rights reserved.

** Based on VeriTest study comparing AOL® 9.0 Optimized with TopSpeed Web Acceleration Technology versus leading nationwide dial-up ISPs, August 2003.

TJolly
October 15th, 2004, 04:28 PM
Hi kkcruiser

I am a user of aol and I would be very suspicious of the email you have received.

Why would they want to confirm your email address when they have already contacted you. I personally would ignor that email completely and just delete it.

lufbra
October 15th, 2004, 04:38 PM
Certainly do NOT click on the "unsubscribe", cos that just lets them know that your e-mail address is "live". :)

kkcruiser
October 15th, 2004, 06:41 PM
Thank you for your replies TJolly, and lufbra. My first inclination was to hit the unsubcribe link, but had second thoughts before I jumped into that jacuzzi.

I'll ignore the email, and delete it.

Thanks again

kkcruiser/Christine

TJolly
October 15th, 2004, 06:43 PM
You're welcome.

renegade600
October 15th, 2004, 08:30 PM
it is amazing how real emails look now when they are trying to steal your username and password. Remember, any unsolicited email that asks for that info is a scam. Delete immediately.

kkcruiser
October 15th, 2004, 09:12 PM
Dan,

It looked real to me, but since I hadn't generated the request, I was suspicious.

I was right in figuring someone would have an answer for me :thumbsup: as I am unfamiliar with AOL.

kkcruiser/Christine