Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Software > Applications

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old April 22nd, 2012, 06:03 PM
mel3986 mel3986 is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
O/S: Windows Vista 64-bit
Posts: 64
Question Microsoft works 8.5 word processor

Hi there, I don't know if this is the right form for this question. I have scanned a form into word processor and trying to type in the blanks on this form. I might be doing something wrong but I cannot type in the blanks. The question is can I do this, if so, how?

Thank you for your time.
Michael
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old April 22nd, 2012, 06:57 PM
Miz's Avatar
Miz Miz is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Kansas
Age: 68
Posts: 11,923
Scanners render everything into picture format unless told otherwise. So what you have now is a picture of the document you scanned.

In order for it to be a document you can edit or a form you can type on, you will need to use OCR (Optical Character Recognition) software to rescan it. Most scanners include a basic OCR program on the scanner's installation disc.

If you can't find the disc, go to the scanner manufacturer's website and see if you can find their OCR software for download.

Once you have the OCR program installed, open it and read its Help files to get you started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 23rd, 2012, 11:53 PM
smurfy's Avatar
smurfy smurfy is online now
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
O/S: Linux
Location: Christchurch New Zealand
Posts: 9,195
Alternatively, if your objective is just to print the completed form, you can insert text boxes over top of the fields in the image and type into the text box.
So the scanned form is a background image and each fillable field has a text box floating over their relative place in the image.
Make the text boxes transparent and borderless and you shouldn't be able to tell on the resulting printed document.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 24th, 2012, 01:59 PM
pip22 pip22 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: England, UK
Age: 64
Posts: 998
"Alternatively, if your objective is just to print the completed form, you can insert text boxes over top of the fields in the image"

I don't think the Works word processor will enable the OP do that as it's usually only Desktop Publishing software which has a tool to create text boxes.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 25th, 2012, 02:07 AM
smurfy's Avatar
smurfy smurfy is online now
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
O/S: Linux
Location: Christchurch New Zealand
Posts: 9,195
Word or Works 8.5 WP have floating text box capability. I know 8.5 and above removed word art and Draw functionality but a couple of questions on Microsoft.com e.g. indicate text boxes are still present in this version.

Granted it's not the best way to do it, but it does work.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 29th, 2012, 06:53 PM
mel3986 mel3986 is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
O/S: Windows Vista 64-bit
Posts: 64
Smile Windows Works 8.5

Thanks to all who replied to my posting. Your information helped out a lot. I solve my problem I found the OCR and used it. Thank you again
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:24 PM.