Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows 7

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old May 5th, 2012, 09:06 PM
preachy's Avatar
preachy preachy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Posts: 372
BSOD after reinstall

Hi
Hopefully i have put this post in the right place.
I have just installed a new mobo into my machine along with a second gfx card (both in sig). The install went fine as did thew installation of the mobo drivers from the disk. I performed a windows update and installed everythign other than IE9. I also installed microsoft security essentials.
during the reboots i noticed how slow they were so at POST i switched trhe SSD to AHCI from IDE. After this the pc crashes with a BSOD during the Windows startup screen.
I have changed the setting to their original settings but this results in the same outcome only slower.
it will not boot upin safe mode/with networking or with fail safe defaults.

the BSOD error message says unmountable boot volume
with this string of numbers at the bottom
STOP: 0X000000ED. (0XFFFFFA8007C439D0,0XFFFFFFFFC000000E,0X000000000 0000000, 0X0000000000000000

Hopeully this means something to somone cos i be in the dark.


thanks as always
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old May 6th, 2012, 02:39 PM
pip22 pip22 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: England, UK
Age: 64
Posts: 998
Try TestDisk: http://www.cgsecurity.org/wiki/TestDisk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 6th, 2012, 04:12 PM
preachy's Avatar
preachy preachy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Posts: 372
Since this problem I have reinstalled windows. It runs fine, the ssd boots and shutsdown really quickas it has always done. But,after installing the windows updates and switching to ahci in bios it can take 3 or 4 minutes to boot up (if it does boot).
I cannot figure out why it isnt working as it should, and after tryin to update the firmware on my drive which fails everytime i try to use the ocz toolbox.
Is ther a particulatr order i should be installing things from the reinstall?
can i switch to ahci mode during the installation or do i need to fully install windows and then change it in bios.
any advice at all would be really helpful..
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 6th, 2012, 11:31 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Newport News VA
Posts: 15,717
To properly enable AHCI;

1. Startup "Regedit"
2. Open HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE / SYSTEM / CurrentControlset / Services
3. Open msahci
4. In the right field left click on "start" and go to Modify
5. In the value Data field enter "0" and click "ok"
6. exit "Regedit"
7. Reboot computer and enter BIOS (hold "Delete" key while Booting-or whichever key you use)

In your BIOS select "Integrated Peripherals" and OnChip PATA/SATA Devices. Now change SATA Mode to AHCI from IDE.

You now boot into windows 7, the OS will recognize AHCI and install the devices. Now the system needs one more reboot.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:35 PM.