Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Software > Gaming

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old April 25th, 2017, 05:17 AM
CougarDS's Avatar
CougarDS CougarDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 70
LoL Client lags with duel monitor

My computer: http://www.msimobile.com/level3_productpage.aspx?id=452

My issue is with LoL (League of Legends) client being slow ONLY when I plug in my 2nd monitor into the HDMI port. For those of you not familiar, LoL had an old client and a beta one which is more advanced (visually). When I ran the old client (legacy client) it worked fine with the multiple monitors but the option to use the old client has been removed. I have a 3rd monitor I also use in the VGA port. The issue starts, however, as soon as I plug in the HDMI, even without the VGA monitor plugged in. I've tried messing with the NVIDIA 3D settings but have had no changes. My graphics driver is up to date and I made sure that the .exe for the client is using the GPU and not the integrated graphics. As soon as i unplug the monitors it goes back to normal without restarting the client.

It might also be worth mentioning that it didn't always do this until a certain patch for the game. Nothing else has changed on my PC relating to this. No other program has this issue. Moving the client to different monitors also does nothing.

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old April 28th, 2017, 12:22 PM
smurfy's Avatar
smurfy smurfy is online now
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
O/S: Linux
Location: Christchurch New Zealand
Posts: 9,466
Was sure i started replying to this a couple of days ago... sorry but I have closed your duplicate topic in the Win8 forum.

1st thing I'll say is the 7.7 patch seems to have caused widespread fps issues, so my gut feel is this is an issue with the game client itself and you'll need to wait for the next patch to see if they fix it...

It IS weird that it is only affecting you when you use HDMI out though.

A few thoughts... what resolutions are each monitor using? The laptop native display is 1080, is the HDMI monitor displaying a higher res?

If you plug in the VGA and run HDMI and VGA only (disable the laptop display) does the issue remain?

When you plug in HDMI, is the sound output changing to the HDMI HD sound device? If so, if you disable the HDMI sound output before plugging in, does the issue remain?

Are you "hot-plugging" the HDMI monitor while the game is running or does it make no difference if you do it before launching the game?

What HW monitoring software do you have? OpenHardwareMonitor will allow you to track load on GPU and Video RAM when you plug in the HDMI port. Does it spike?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 30th, 2017, 04:17 AM
CougarDS's Avatar
CougarDS CougarDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 70
Both monitors are LG EW224 and are same res as laptop monitor (1080).

With the Laptop display disabled it is the same thing (i had the game "Rust" running when i switched it off, and it still worked fine but it defaulted to the VGA monitor) While it was disabled i closed and re-opened the client.

The HDMI device is just a monitor, nothing with audio, changes (all coming into headset)

Yes i've tried "hot-plugging" and vice versa.

The only monitoring software i use is the one that comes with the NVIDIA software.

In the software you recommended, the first screenshot is with only the VGA plugged in, and the second was after i plugged in the HDMI. During this test i found out that if i have the VGA plugged in and not the HDMI, the game client works fine

https://gyazo.com/0c55b64db13e2e4a3b668ddf25505a62
https://gyazo.com/091693f133fe3d9d3e3cebf93c6dce1f

In this next screenshot you can see that apparently it's saying that only monitor 3 is using my GPU and the others are on integrated. Not sure how that can be, because my laptop is my main displace i play all the games on. Display 3 is the HDMI and 2 is the VGA.

https://gyazo.com/29c0e05ee1cbd5fd6de4db697e565f8a


thanks for your detailed reply.

Last edited by CougarDS; April 30th, 2017 at 04:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:05 AM.