Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows Vista

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old March 12th, 2017, 08:42 PM
mel3986 mel3986 is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Posts: 106
Changing operating systems

Hello there,
I don't know if it's the right forum post this. But here goes. I have a Dell Inspiron 531 Vista operating system. It has been working well for my use. But I believe by the end of this month I will be vulnerable because I can't get any updates.

My question is can I change the operating system in order to get the updates needed on this computer, to give it a longer life.

The security that I have on this computer is what comes with the Windows Vista security and through my cable company. Is the security from the cable company sufficient? Providing they keep up-to-date.

Anything you have to say would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old March 12th, 2017, 09:21 PM
SpywareDr SpywareDr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 554
Upgrade Options for Windows Vista as Support Expires in 2017
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 12th, 2017, 09:42 PM
IPR512's Avatar
IPR512 IPR512 is offline
Jill
 
Join Date: May 2006
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Tampabay area of Florida
Posts: 2,106
As far as installing a new operating system on your computer I think you would run into problems in finding drivers for it. Dell has drivers for XP and Vista for it, and doesn't mention Windows 7 for that computer.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 12th, 2017, 10:52 PM
mel3986 mel3986 is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Posts: 106
Changing operating system

Thank you for answering so quickly.

I ran the Windows 7 upgrade advisor, and it told me I have an upgrade option available, but I can't seem to get Windows 7 to install. Maybe I'm going about it wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 12th, 2017, 11:21 PM
renegade600's Avatar
renegade600 renegade600 is offline
Certifiable Bum
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
O/S: Linux
Location: Osceola, Ar
Posts: 26,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by mel3986 View Post
Thank you for answering so quickly.

I ran the Windows 7 upgrade advisor, and it told me I have an upgrade option available, but I can't seem to get Windows 7 to install. Maybe I'm going about it wrong.
the upgrade advisor is worthless for most older computers. it only checks some specs not all specs or if drivers are available. that is what you really need to look at. as previously stated, if the manufacturers do not have drivers, it is usually best not to upgrade.

as far as vista not being supported anymore, as long as you practice save surfin, keep your antiviruses uptodate, you can continue to run vista.

if you are bound and determined to upgrade to win7. make sure you have a copy of vista or a good backup or clone of it in case win 7 does not work. you want to make sure you have something to go back to.

as far as the problem of not getting win7 to install. you need to provide more detail. at what point are you having problems with. any error messages. is it a legit copy of win7. you are only eligible for an upgrade version. you cannot use one from another computer.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 13th, 2017, 03:12 AM
mel3986 mel3986 is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Posts: 106
Thank you again for answering so quickly.

I think I tried to install Windows 7 from the file I have on file. I think I was supposed to use or reboot from a disk with Windows 7 on it.

I try to surf safely and keep my antivirus up-to-date through my cable server.

Maybe I will hold out to the very last before I try to install Windows 7

Thank you for all the information I will put it to good use. Thank you again
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 13th, 2017, 12:12 PM
IPR512's Avatar
IPR512 IPR512 is offline
Jill
 
Join Date: May 2006
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Tampabay area of Florida
Posts: 2,106
You will need a Windows 7 CD to install it, and you need to boot your computer from it.
It's your computer, but as I told you Dell doesn't show any drivers for Windows 7 for it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 14th, 2017, 11:54 PM
Appzalien Appzalien is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 483
Here is some reading for you:
http://en.community.dell.com/support...514/t/19299756
and
http://en.community.dell.com/support...514/t/19357374
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 7th, 2017, 10:22 PM
mel3986 mel3986 is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Posts: 106
Thank you all for your response I have done the upgrade which I accidentally did a wipe and install . There was a few problems but they all got worked out. Problems I had worked out I believe in software forum.I have been up and running for on Windows 7 professional about 5 to 6 weeks, some problems which Are a work in progress.I am getting comfortable with it.Now the fight is between which browser do I use each one has its problems ,right now I'm settled on Internet Explorer browser. Thank you again you guys are the greatest.

Last edited by mel3986; May 7th, 2017 at 10:35 PM. Reason: To add the contents
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:28 PM.