Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Software > Applications

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old November 4th, 2006, 09:17 PM
liasis's Avatar
liasis liasis is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 11
Exclamation ccSvcHst.exe error

Hello ... I recently upgraded to Norton 2007 from 2006 and my system has been starting up at the desktop very slowly ever since. Also, when I shut down sometimes, I get an error message about ccSvcHst.exe not being able to read a certain memory location. I've never been able to write the error message down before the system finishes shutting down. I did uninstall Norton and reinstall after shutting down Windows Defender, but I am still having problems. Can anyone help?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old November 5th, 2006, 01:22 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,811
That error seems to be due to a bug in Norton 2007. A patch has been issued for it. Run Live Update manually and look for the COH updates. Reboot afterwards and let us know if this fixed your problem.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 5th, 2006, 02:32 AM
liasis's Avatar
liasis liasis is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 11
How do I run this manually? When I click the run LiveUpdate button, it says the program is up to date.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 5th, 2006, 07:23 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,811
Ok, well you must have already downloaded it then.

Did you uninstall Norton 2006 before installing Norton 2006?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 6th, 2006, 06:49 AM
liasis's Avatar
liasis liasis is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 11
Yes and I've since had to restore my system which made it worse. Norton is bogged down and I always get an error message about ccSvcHst.exe not being able to read a particular address. Now I got a ccApp.exe runtime error. Have done virus scans, Ad-Aware scans and m still having problems.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 6th, 2006, 09:18 PM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,811
I think it would be a good idea to uninstall Norton 2007 and then go here and run the online Norton Removal Utility. It should get rid of all Norton Traces.

Reboot afterwards and shut down all running programs and try reinstalling Norton again. Run Live Update and install all updates and reboot again. Do you still have a problem?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 8th, 2006, 02:15 AM
liasis's Avatar
liasis liasis is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 11
I did, but the culprit turned out to be Windows Defender. If both run, I have major problems, so now I only have Norton running.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old November 8th, 2006, 03:05 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,811
Ah, thanks for that information liasis and I'm glad that all is well now.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old November 15th, 2006, 09:14 PM
gav85 gav85 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Hi there

I'm getting this exact same error, where is Windows Defender though? I've never even heard of it!!!

EDIT - Just looked on the Microsoft site and it doesnt even look like I have got Windows Defender on my PC so what could the problem be? I haven't tried the uninstall stuff just yet

Last edited by gav85; November 15th, 2006 at 09:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old November 16th, 2006, 03:28 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,811
Quote:
I haven't tried the uninstall stuff just yet
Hi gav85 and welcome to CTH. Try it and let us know if you still have a problem.

Make sure that you have your license key first though.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old November 16th, 2006, 10:20 PM
gav85 gav85 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Obviously I haven't done anything with Windows Defender because I dont have it.

I've done the Norton bit though and although my PC does seem to be running slightly better, I still dont think its as it should be.

I got the error message earlier when I shut my PC down but haven't had it since, next time I get it I'll try and take a photo so you can see what it says, I'll give it a couple of days though and see how it goes and I'll report back.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old November 17th, 2006, 02:38 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,811
Ok but you may have to talk to Symantec support about this gav85. Let's see how things go first though.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old November 18th, 2006, 10:23 AM
Browny Browny is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Hi, Yes, I get exactly the same as you. Takes an age to boot up. Then all seems ok for a while and then the disk starts chattering away, everything slows right down. The tasks manager shows that ccSvcHst.exe is taking up a load of memory. System becomes unusable. Get the same errors as you on shutdown. I did have Norton 2006. Rebuilt machine as I thought it was virus-ridden and then installed Norton 2007 - same problem. Right now the disk has been chattering away for 30 mins like this. I'll uninstall Norton as suggested in this message thread and see if the problem goes away. Keep you posted.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old November 18th, 2006, 07:53 PM
Browny Browny is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Update from Browny - After trying everything to resolve my issues with Norton Anti-Virus 2007 (with ccSvcHst and ccApp using all the system memory and making PC unusable) I decided to uninstall Norton completely (there is an uninstall download on the Symantic website). My PC now works like a dream - Thanks for nothing Symantec! I have emailed Symantec to demand a refund for a poor product. It's clear I'm not alone in being disappointed with Norton Anti-Virus. My laptop uses McAfee on Windows XP (the same OS) so I'll probably buy that instead. Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old November 18th, 2006, 07:54 PM
gav85 gav85 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
I'd do the same but I've spent 35 on my Norton 2007 so I dont fancy just not using it and buying something else!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:07 PM.