Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Hardware > Hardware

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old December 5th, 2006, 05:31 PM
tangandcash tangandcash is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
RAM help asap please

I checked my RAM type from the dell website, and heres what it listed.

DUAL IN-LINE MEMORY MODULE, 256, 333M, 32X64, 8K, 184.
Memory Slot 1 [CHANNEL A DIMM 0] 256Mb
Memory Slot 2 [CHANNEL B DIMM 0] 256Mb

I'm planning on upgrading my RAM today to 1GB more than I already have.

Please hep me confirm or add to my existing analysis. I'm assuming If I want to upgrade to 1GB, i need two sticks of 512, considering the two DIMM slots right? I'm assuming the RAM i need is DDR-SD (the 184 at the end tells me 184 pins?) and the RAM that I'm upgrading to has to be PC-2700 (333MHZ)???

Can anyone please confirm that all these statements are true?

Here's what I'm looking at getting, will this work? http://www.compusa.com/products/prod..._Memory_Module

Thanks very much in advance.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old December 5th, 2006, 05:37 PM
RRBKTechMan's Avatar
RRBKTechMan RRBKTechMan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Union, Mo
Age: 24
Posts: 109
Whell you have to now assume that there are 1gb sticks of ram. there are 2 gb sticks of ram. So i guess the first thing you need to consider is weather or not your computer supports dual channel. If so then yes i would consider the 2 512 sticks. If not... a 1gb stick could be the way with better legantcy timeings and such. So to find out if dual channel is supported open the side of your computer and find the make and model of your motherboard. it will be written somewhere on there. then research your mobo and poste it here. or poste your mobo here and im sure someone would be more than willing to help u laiter today (will but will be late tonight because of work)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 5th, 2006, 05:45 PM
tangandcash tangandcash is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Thanks a lot. Here's my mobo information.

Board: Dell Computer Corp. 0F4491
Serial Number: ..CN481113CM069M.
Bus Clock: 533 megahertz
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 5th, 2006, 05:59 PM
tangandcash tangandcash is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
to be more specific

To be more specific:

Manufacturer: Dell Computer Corp
Model: OF4491
Chipset: Intel i865P/PE/G/i848P
Southbridge: Intel 82801EB (ICH5)
Sensor: SMSC 1404

BIOS: Dell Computer Corp - Version A09



I actually just checked my RAM via a program scan and here's what I found.
TYPE: DDR
CHANNLES - DUAL
Frequency - 166.2MHZ
FSBRAM - 4:5

Please help, does this mean that PC2700 is too many MHZ for what my system can handle?

Last edited by tangandcash; December 5th, 2006 at 06:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 6th, 2006, 01:48 AM
l337_GuY's Avatar
l337_GuY l337_GuY is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: New Zealand
Age: 6
Posts: 7,436
You check out the memory test on www.crucial.com - It will tell you the fastest memory you can use, and at the end show you a list of compatible sticks. You can then buy from there, or match the specs of the RAM and buy from another seller.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:56 AM.