Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Hardware > Hardware

Notices

Closed Topic
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old June 2nd, 2007, 12:32 PM
dan57 dan57 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1
Installing XP: ***STOP: 0x0000007B (0xF78D2524,0xC0000034,0x00000000,0x00000000)?

Hi all!

I've recently built myself a new computer and am now experiencing a strange error whenever I attempt to install Windows XP.
After booting the CD a blue screen appears with the error message:
***STOP: 0x0000007B (0xF78D2524,0xC0000034,0x00000000,0x00000000)

My computer is made up of the following new components:
Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition SP2 OEM Single

Intel Core 2 Duo E4300, Socket 775, 1.80 GHz, 800MHz FSB, Allendale Core, 2MB Cache, Retail

256MB Sapphire Radeon X1950Pro, PCI-E(x16), Mem 1400MHz GDDR3, GPU 580MHz, 36Pipes, Dual DVI, TV-Out

Asus P5LD2VM-DH/C, i945G, S775, PCI-E (x16), DDR2 533/667, SATA II, SATA RAID, uATX, On Board VGA

2Gb (2X1Gb) Corsair Value Select, DDR2 PC4300 (533), 240 Pin, Non-ECC Unbuffered, CAS 4-4-4-12

500W NORTHQ Low Noise 12-17db 120MM FAN, 2 x PCI EXP, ATX 2.0, 4x S-ATA Active PFC, 20/24pin BULK

and the following old components:
Maxtor 6Y060L0 61.4GB(quick formated)

MSI CD-RW + DVD-ROM No.X48


I have tried using a differnet hard drive, a different CD-ROM drive other software, but it still won't work!

Since I don't now to much about PCs I'm at the end of my knowledge at the moment. Please help me!

Thanks in advance!
~D~


  #2  
Old June 2nd, 2007, 05:04 PM
Murray S.'s Avatar
Murray S. Murray S. is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2004
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Age: 59
Posts: 13,547
Howdy and welcome to CTH:

Take a look HERE at the Microsoft fix.

Murray
  #3  
Old January 29th, 2008, 11:06 AM
thegladi8tor thegladi8tor is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
ICT Engineer

I had the same problem with a Dell Optiplex 330. I received the
STOP 0x0000007B(0xF78DA63C,0x0000034,0X x0000000,0x0000000 error message if I booted with Windows XP. I resolved the issue by the following actions

1. On start up (Dell logo), press F2 to enter BIOS

2. Expand the "Drives" section

3. Go to "SATA Operation"

4. Change this from "RAID Auto/AHCI" to "RAID Auto/ATA"
  #4  
Old May 29th, 2008, 02:49 PM
doodles doodles is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
Thumbs up A big thanks to thegladi8tor

thegladi8tor,

Just wanted to show my appreciation by registering here and thanking you for your tip, I have been on the phone to dell twice to try and fix this issue and I was told (the first time) My new 500 GB drive that they replaced was faulty and the second call that I just needed to download the Dell diagnostic's and that would fix the issue, 2 words for dell support ABSOLUTE SPASTICS.

Thanks thegladi8tor

Regards
Doodles.
  #5  
Old August 6th, 2008, 04:19 AM
PockyBum522 PockyBum522 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Thanks gladiator, for making my life easier too
  #6  
Old August 25th, 2008, 09:27 PM
lednilo lednilo is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Thanks alot, I have seriously been fighting this exact problem for the last 14 hours, and I finally got it to work because of you guys.
  #7  
Old September 4th, 2008, 08:11 AM
paulqueen paulqueen is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
LMAO! THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! AHHHHH!!!!
this was a total oversight (like making sure your pc is plugged in type of thing if it isnt working) and you saved me from vista!

I was trying to install a barebones version of XP on a laptop I bought a month ago and eventually gave up after trying everything I could think of and searching online until I came across this post. For a little while there I had even 'gave up' temporarily and decided to give Vista a try (it runs about as fast on my ASUS M50VM-X1 laptop as my 3 year old athlon XP box at home runs with a barebones XP!!!! vista is effing sad)

again, thanks so much
  #8  
Old September 6th, 2008, 03:10 PM
Villa Villa is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by thegladi8tor View Post
I had the same problem with a Dell Optiplex 330. I received the
STOP 0x0000007B(0xF78DA63C,0x0000034,0X x0000000,0x0000000 error message if I booted with Windows XP. I resolved the issue by the following actions

1. On start up (Dell logo), press F2 to enter BIOS

2. Expand the "Drives" section

3. Go to "SATA Operation"

4. Change this from "RAID Auto/AHCI" to "RAID Auto/ATA"
Hi, I too just registered in order to say a big thanks for this piece of information.
I have spent many hours in frustration trying to figure out why my PC blue screen crashes during the start of the Windows Setup from DVD.
I followed the advice about the Drive Operation and this allowed the setup program to run fine.

Many thanks indeed !
  #9  
Old September 10th, 2008, 07:25 PM
agrikk agrikk is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Keep in mind that changing this from "RAID Auto/AHCI" to "RAID Auto/ATA" will turn off the high-performance features of the controller and put it into compatibility mode.

Last edited by agrikk; September 10th, 2008 at 11:02 PM.
  #10  
Old September 18th, 2008, 04:59 PM
NIC0908 NIC0908 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
I have also experienced this exact same issue on the Dell Optiplex 745 and 755 systems.

Now I am seeing a similar issue on the new Dell Latitude E6400. However, the BIOS options have changed slightly. The E series laptop default setting is listed under "SATA Operation" and is set to "IRRT" but needs to be set to "ATA" for a VL copy of XP to install without the above BSOD.

(BTW The Dell OEM XP and Vista Disks did not have any problems with the "IRRT" setting)
  #11  
Old October 15th, 2008, 12:07 AM
sweeper1978 sweeper1978 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
Very Helpful!!

Thanks for the good advice
It worked perfectly...
I had also been trying for days to get the Windows XP pro setup tp work.
Thanks again,
Shawn
  #12  
Old October 15th, 2008, 09:30 PM
yassin yassin is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
O/S: Linux
Location: Norway
Posts: 1
Thank you thegladi8tor

Thank you thegladi8tor for saving me valuable time!!!

I just bought a dell precision 2400 and xp was *****in' with it's popular bluescreen. Your solution made it shut up and work like it is supposed to.

Again, thank you.
  #13  
Old October 23rd, 2008, 05:22 PM
Moonlight1000a1's Avatar
Moonlight1000a1 Moonlight1000a1 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Astoria
Posts: 1
Thanks now is instalation new xp working
Good job
Moonlight1000a1
  #14  
Old November 2nd, 2008, 04:14 PM
paintballvictim paintballvictim is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
Smile Thank you!!!!!!!

thegladi8tor.... the only thing i have to say is.... I APPRECIATE EVERYTHING!!!!!

I got a virus on the computer, so had to reformat/.... the xp disk woodnt work, so i was asking everyone... trying every disk, everything, i even hooked up the hard drive to another computer and had the other computer reformat it, then i was stuck and i had absolutely nothing... then my mom called my past computer guy, which i HATE because he talks to me like i am a complete retard... i am not a fan of him... thank you soo much!!!!!!
  #15  
Old November 5th, 2008, 04:53 PM
aguaholic aguaholic is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
I'm getting the same thing here....in the bios i do not see anywhere i can make a change for the SATA drive. The computer is a HP Pavilion dv7-1130us. Can someone please help. I took the HD out and connected it to a desktop and reformatted the drive. Installed it back into the laptop and tried again to re-install xp. The laptop has a AMD Turion X2 64 bit processor.

I do not see anywhere to make that change

Any ideas?

Thanks!

Last edited by aguaholic; November 5th, 2008 at 05:09 PM.
Closed Topic

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:38 PM.