Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows Vista

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old January 11th, 2008, 10:17 AM
azok79's Avatar
azok79 azok79 is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2004
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 129
"This file has no camera properties"

Before I formatted my C drive and installed Vista, I copied all my music, pictures, documents, etc. to another HDD. After restoring everything to the Vista drive, many of my pictures seem to be gone, although their “Properties” tabs show details about them, such as their size, when created and such. The message I get in Microsoft Office Picture Manager is “this file has no camera properties”, and there is nothing but a little box with a red X. I tried entering some info in the “Details” tab, but can’t, and tried opening them in another application.
I am sick about this! Hope someone has a solution. (I think the snips are self-explanatory. The one shows the ONLY info in the Details section)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture.JPG (34.8 KB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg Capture2.JPG (36.8 KB, 10 views)
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old January 12th, 2008, 01:19 AM
Broni's Avatar
Broni Broni is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: Daly City, CA
Age: 60
Posts: 771
Quote:
this file has no camera properties
Are you sure?

I also noticed the file attribute as AN. Never heard of it.

Last edited by Broni; January 12th, 2008 at 01:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 12th, 2008, 01:37 AM
azok79's Avatar
azok79 azok79 is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2004
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 129
Yes, and I have no idea what AN is...just showing you what's listed in the properties. Microsoft Office Picture Manager gave me the error message. What I can do to fix it?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 12th, 2008, 01:58 AM
Broni's Avatar
Broni Broni is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: Daly City, CA
Age: 60
Posts: 771
See, if Irfanview will open it: http://www.irfanview.com/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 12th, 2008, 08:47 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,811
If you still have a problem opening the file with Irfanview, can you also post a screenshot of the Security Tab details please azok79.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 13th, 2008, 12:14 AM
azok79's Avatar
azok79 azok79 is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2004
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 129
Irfanview gives me this message: "Unknown file format or file not found"

About half of the pictures in my folders aren't showing up. Just get the generic thumbnail.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg security.JPG (39.9 KB, 10 views)
File Type: jpg thumb.JPG (11.2 KB, 6 views)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 13th, 2008, 12:28 AM
Broni's Avatar
Broni Broni is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: Daly City, CA
Age: 60
Posts: 771
It looks like, for some reason, those files headers are damaged.
Quote:
After restoring everything to the Vista drive
How did you go about it?
Quote:
I copied all my music, pictures, documents, etc. to another HDD
Some external HD, or...?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 13th, 2008, 12:39 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,811
I think we may have a permissions issue. Doc-PC\Doc is the owner of the file but this account doesnt exist. It looks like it's been deleted. Have you deleted an account azok79? What account do you logon to?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old January 13th, 2008, 03:56 AM
azok79's Avatar
azok79 azok79 is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2004
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by Broni View Post
It looks like, for some reason, those files headers are damaged.

How did you go about it?

Some external HD, or...?
Broni, I copied the files to an internal HDD running XP. I think I used drag and drop.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old January 13th, 2008, 03:57 AM
azok79's Avatar
azok79 azok79 is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2004
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnnMarie View Post
I think we may have a permissions issue. Doc-PC\Doc is the owner of the file but this account doesnt exist. It looks like it's been deleted. Have you deleted an account azok79? What account do you logon to?
AnnMarie. I don't logon, really. Don't even have a password set up. And no, I haven't deleted an account.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old January 13th, 2008, 04:05 AM
Broni's Avatar
Broni Broni is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: Daly City, CA
Age: 60
Posts: 771
Quote:
I copied the files to an internal HDD running XP.
I still don't understand. You copied those files from where? Where was Vista eventually installed to?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old January 13th, 2008, 04:39 AM
azok79's Avatar
azok79 azok79 is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2004
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 129
I installed XP on a spare internal HDD, so I could use some older programs; copied my pictures to that drive, then upgraded from XP to Vista on the original HDD. And BTW, the pictures are not all there on either drive.

Well, I actually didn't just upgrade, I formatted the drive and did a fresh install of Vista.

Last edited by azok79; January 13th, 2008 at 04:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old January 13th, 2008, 06:03 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,811
It's possible that the files have corrupted azok79, it happens.

I cant see a standard account listed in the Security Tab and that should be the account that you are logged onto. Go back to Properties and click on the Security Tab. Click Advanced and tell me what user groups are listed.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old January 13th, 2008, 06:54 AM
azok79's Avatar
azok79 azok79 is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2004
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 129
Here are a couple of shots. Hope they help.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture.JPG (39.1 KB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg Capture2.JPG (33.3 KB, 8 views)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old January 13th, 2008, 07:08 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,811
Go to file properties again and close the file. Click on Security > Advanced and click on the Owner tab. Click on Edit and select Doc-PC\Doc and then click on Apply and OK etc. Try opening the file now.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:58 AM.