Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Software > Gaming

Notices

Topic Tools
Old January 23rd, 2011, 05:42 AM

O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Help With Overclocking Using CCC (catalyst control center)

Hello,

I am wondering if I would be able to overclock my ATI Sapphire Radeon HD6850 graphics card for a few extra fps on games like crysis, oblivion ect. I am not very good with computers so I am not sure how much to over clock the card.

I only want a slight performance increase because I am scared that because my brother tends to play games for long periods at a time (5 hours+) it could overheat and need replacing.

My case is a cooler master cm690 ll advanced and the temp of my graphics card is around 42 degrees Celsius when idle and can get to around 66-72 at the highest.

At the moment the High Performance GPU clock settings are set to 775mhz and can be set to a max of 850.

High Performance memory clock settings are set to 1000mhz and can be set to a max of 1200mhz.

There is also an auto-tune feature and would this be recommended? And what temperature should be the maximum that i should let my card get up to?

So basically I was wanting to know what speeds i could set my graphics card to safely. I want to be very safe on this one as I do not have a good cooling system and do not want to have to replace a broken computer.

Thanks in advance.
Vettori.

Old January 23rd, 2011, 06:48 AM
Cyber Tech Help Moderator

O/S: Linux
Hi and welcome to CTH.
Quote:
I do not have a good cooling system and do not want to have to replace a broken computer
In that case you should not be thinking of overclocking. End of story.
Old January 23rd, 2011, 06:52 AM

Thanks

Thanks for the reply.

So changing any of these values even slightly could break my computer?
Old March 1st, 2011, 12:43 AM