Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows XP

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old March 26th, 2004, 07:36 PM
IamLisa IamLisa is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2
Help - Start button and taskbar not working!

After logging on to my computer, I cannot use the Start button or taskbar. When I position my mouse over them, the arrow turns to an hourglass. I am unable to either left or right click on the start button or taskbar.

I am able to right click on my desktop and create icons to launch programs, but I want the Start button and taskbar back!

Any help is appreciated.

Lisa
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old March 26th, 2004, 07:49 PM
degsy's Avatar
degsy degsy is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North-East, UK
Posts: 22,476
See if this program can repair it
http://www.techtv.com/screensavers/w...615699,00.html
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 26th, 2004, 08:19 PM
Baser-X's Avatar
Baser-X Baser-X is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
O/S: MacOS
Location: U.S.
Age: 39
Posts: 1,555
I just cleaned up a friend's computer that was having a similar issue. On his, the task bar would load, but the start button would not (there would just be a blank white space where the start button should have been) and when mousing over the task bar the pointer would become an hourglass. I ran Spybot and Hijack This! and after good cleaning it resolved itself. His computer was so infested with so many different things that I couldn't really say what was causing it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 26th, 2004, 09:33 PM
IamLisa IamLisa is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2
Which option?

I looked at the techtv link, and downloaded the file TaskBarRepairTool kit. I ran a few of the options. But I wasn't certain which one to select.

Now, when I put my mouse on the start button, no timer appears, and I cannot left or right click.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 26th, 2004, 09:42 PM
degsy's Avatar
degsy degsy is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North-East, UK
Posts: 22,476
I think you will have to experiment with some of the options.
Look at the ones about Enable/Disable Start Menu or Taskbar.

I was just about to suggest a System Restore before you start tweaking
You could possible try a System Restore to a previous point to see if that solves your problem.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 6th, 2008, 07:04 PM
Broni's Avatar
Broni Broni is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: Daly City, CA
Age: 59
Posts: 771
Try fix #117 from here: http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/xp_tweaks.htm
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 6th, 2008, 07:59 PM
infernolism infernolism is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
yeah im a big noob for this kind of stuff... when i see this its a text. am i suppose to use internet explorer for that cuz i am on mozilla firefox...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 7th, 2008, 12:40 AM
GretaP's Avatar
GretaP GretaP is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Ontario, Canada
Age: 53
Posts: 5,009
Quote:
when i see this its a text. am i suppose to use internet explorer for that cuz i am on mozilla firefox
If you're referring to fix #117 from http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/xp_tweaks.htm then you can either use Internet Explorer, or in Firefox you would right-click on the link and then select either Save As, Save Target As or Save Link Target As (can't recall exactly what the wording is).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old January 7th, 2008, 02:52 AM
infernolism infernolism is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
so what do i do with a registry?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old January 7th, 2008, 04:41 AM
Broni's Avatar
Broni Broni is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: Daly City, CA
Age: 59
Posts: 771
It's right click, and Save Link As...
It'll save nodesktop.reg file to the location of your choice.
Just to be safe, you may want to back up your registry, now.
Go Start>Run, type in:
regedit
Click OK.
Registry Editor will open.
Go File>Export, and save your registry to safe location.
Close Registry Editor

Double click on downloaded nodesktop.reg file, and agree (OK) to Merge

Restart your computer, and see, if it worked.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old January 7th, 2008, 12:01 PM
infernolism infernolism is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
yeah that does not work... maybe i need a new update for xp sp2. how do download that when the taskbar is able to be used?

Last edited by infernolism; January 7th, 2008 at 10:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old January 8th, 2008, 03:24 AM
Broni's Avatar
Broni Broni is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: Daly City, CA
Age: 59
Posts: 771
Go:
www.windowsupdate.microsoft.com
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old January 10th, 2008, 08:45 PM
infernolism infernolism is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
there is no new update for my laptop. any more suggestion please? thank you very much.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:51 AM.