Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Macintosh, iPhone and iPad

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old June 27th, 2002, 07:04 PM
MacMarko MacMarko is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Grand Junction Colorado
Posts: 6
Question Built-in memory test and cache memory problem

I am assisting a PB user (via e-mail) who is getting the following message at startup:
"The built-in memory test has detected a problem with cache memory. Please contact a service technician for assistance."

I have the following info on her Mac:
PB G3, 400mhz, Machine ID = 406, OS 8.6, disk cache 6MB, VM is off, 192MB RAM (64MB bottom, 128MB top), 8MB video RAM, no external L2 cache.

Have tried:
1. Turning VM on/off.
2. Setting cache memory to lowest possible in Memory Control panel.

Any ideas/suggestions are appreciated. There are no nearby Apple Certified technicians in this part of rural Colorado.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old June 27th, 2002, 07:41 PM
Buzz's Avatar
Buzz Buzz is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
O/S: MacOS
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 3,804
Grand Junction, eh. Hope the fires aren't getting too close on the western slope. I grew up in Colorado.


Anyway.... back on topic. If the cache memory is reporting an error I can think of few things to try.

#1) Zap the PRAM - hold down P-R-command-option on boot. Keep it held down until you hear the Mac startup chime 4 times, then let go. The Mac should continue to boot. If the error still occurs......

#2) Check the RAM. A bad RAM stick may be the cause. If there is more than one RAM stick installed power down, remove all but one stick and startup. if the error occurs... shut down, swap the RAM stick and boot again. Do this for all installed RAM sticks. If the error does not appear with a particular piece of RAM then your culprit is bad RAM. If there is only one RAM stick instlled, there is really no other way to test this.

#3) Boot from an OS CD. Insert an OS CD into the CD drive and restart the Mac. Hold down the C key while the mac boots up. If when booting from the OS CD the error does not appear, then the system is hosed and a clean install is in order. I can give a how to if necessary. If the error still presents itself when booting from the OS CD...

#4) It's a hardware issue and something is wrong with the motherboard or other component and no amount of software troubleshooting will help. A service tech is needed. Call Apple.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 27th, 2002, 10:50 PM
Bill Bill is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Left Coast
Posts: 634
Buzz,
MacMarko could try to get his/her friend a dimm checker of some sort app.
Dimm first aid for example or dimm checker (which are basically the same).

Then again that is relying on a third party checker instead of the hands-on bullet proof method.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 22nd, 2004, 12:53 AM
jaimekr jaimekr is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1
memory cache error

i am having the exact somae problem - I am getting a memeory cache error when I boot up, and I am not able to install any other new operating system (I tried 9.2 and 10). to the first poster here, how did you end up fixing ythe problem?
thanks,
jaime
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 28th, 2005, 10:40 PM
mlyonswi mlyonswi is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1
memory cache error

well it's a year from the last posting on this topic and now I'm having this problem too. Any help out there??
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 29th, 2005, 01:57 AM
Buzz's Avatar
Buzz Buzz is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
O/S: MacOS
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 3,804
All the original information in my first post in this thread still holds true.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 26th, 2006, 03:03 PM
marlern marlern is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1
I developed this problem on an otherwise trouble-free G3 laptop. I took it to my very dependable repair shop, and was told that this is a processor problem which will cost more to fix than buying a whole new computer. Bummer.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:06 AM.