Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows XP

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old November 25th, 2005, 11:04 PM
BigTex BigTex is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Texas
Age: 43
Posts: 145
XP Home..........Blank Screen?

O.K.
I just reinstalled XP Home on a new HD, but after I installed a Windows update, the computer rebooted itself and the screen has gone blank. I can neither boot in regular on safe mode. I can see it booting but it stops before the welcome screen appears.

Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old November 26th, 2005, 01:24 AM
mtbird mtbird is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 444
From your start menu, did you try "Last Known Good Configuration"? Or can you boot to "safe mode command prompt" ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 26th, 2005, 01:36 AM
BigTex BigTex is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Texas
Age: 43
Posts: 145
Helo mtbird,
I did a repair and it seems to be working better but when starts to boot up, I either get the "Last Known Good Configuration" option (which I choose) or it reboots over.

Is there any problems with XP Home w/SP2 and NIS 2005 that you are aware of?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 26th, 2005, 01:41 AM
mtbird mtbird is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 444
There are tons of issues with Norton these days. When you get into Windows go to start>run. Type in msconfig. On the general tab, uncheck to "load startup items". Reboot and see if you still have problems.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 26th, 2005, 01:47 AM
BigTex BigTex is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Texas
Age: 43
Posts: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtbird
There are tons of issues with Norton these days. When you get into Windows go to start>run. Type in msconfig. On the general tab, uncheck to "load startup items". Reboot and see if you still have problems.
I haven't had the chance to do this yet. When I reboot, I'm getting the blank screen again but now I can see the arrow (from the mouse)?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 26th, 2005, 01:51 AM
BigTex BigTex is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Texas
Age: 43
Posts: 145
OK I got it to reboot but NIS is not there.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 26th, 2005, 01:53 AM
BigTex BigTex is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Texas
Age: 43
Posts: 145
Never mind, I reread your last post. I'll give it a try.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old November 26th, 2005, 01:55 AM
mtbird mtbird is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 444
Reboot again and see if you can get to your start menu. If you can get there, try safe mode command prompt.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old November 26th, 2005, 01:56 AM
mtbird mtbird is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 444
LOL....we were posting at the same time :-p
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old November 26th, 2005, 02:16 AM
BigTex BigTex is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Texas
Age: 43
Posts: 145
I'm getting the Blue Screen: Dumping phyiscal memory to disc?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old November 26th, 2005, 02:25 AM
mtbird mtbird is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 444
Is it giving you more details on the blue screen ? An error code or file listing ?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old November 26th, 2005, 02:27 AM
BigTex BigTex is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Texas
Age: 43
Posts: 145
No error code or file listing, I'm uninstalling NIS 2005 and see if that is the problem, will post results soon.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old November 26th, 2005, 02:42 AM
BigTex BigTex is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Texas
Age: 43
Posts: 145
Blue Screen:

A problem has been detected and Windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer.

A driver has overrun a stack-based buffer. This overrun could potentially allow a melicious user to gain control of this machine.

If this is the first time you've seen ths stop error screen, restart your computer. If this screen appears again, follow these steps:

Check to make sure any new hardware or sftware is properly installed. If this is a new installation, ask your hardware or software manufacturer for any windows updates you might need.

If problems continue, disable or remove any newly installed hardware or software. Disable BIOS memory options such as caching or shadowing. If you need to use safe mode to remove or disable components, restart your computer, press F8 to select Advanced Startup Options, and then select Safe Mode.

Technical information:

***STOP: 0x00000F7 (0x000197FB, 0x000197F8,0xFFFE6804,0x00000000)

Last edited by BigTex; November 26th, 2005 at 02:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old November 26th, 2005, 03:01 AM
mtbird mtbird is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 444
Well, you have a few things to check. This could be a buggy device driver or it could be something in your hardware like defective ram.

You can test the ram by running memtest. You can get it here....
http://www.memtest86.com/

You can also try the driver verifier and see if it can flag the problem. You can read about it here....
http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;244617

Run verifier.exe and accept the default options. Reboot and see if it produces an error. Note the driver listed -- that is what is important. You will have to reboot in Safe Mode and run:

verifier.exe again and check "delete existing settings" to stop verifier from running on every reboot and producing the same Stop message.

Last edited by mtbird; November 26th, 2005 at 03:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old November 26th, 2005, 03:12 AM
mtbird mtbird is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 444
One more thing....
SP2 could be another possibility. If you installed it from Windows Update, you can uninstall it from add/remove.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:37 PM.