PDA

View Full Version : Gaming Problems? Check your System Req's!


smurfy
February 14th, 2006, 04:06 AM
Are you having trouble with a game and think your system meets the minimum/recommended requirements? Check it out here:

System Requirements Lab (http://www.srtest.com/referrer/srtest)

Link found by Rainbow32 - Thanks!

Here is a sample of a succesful analysis (my Sims2 test) and a failed analysis (from another PC in my home)
Great tool!

The Dude
March 5th, 2006, 07:27 AM
Very usefull tool!!!

Thank you Smurfy!! (And Rainbow32)

:)

Vercades
March 24th, 2006, 06:00 AM
Very useful, thanks Rainbow32!

FROG
April 4th, 2006, 05:55 PM
I like it. its good. :)

black mirror
April 4th, 2006, 06:14 PM
I wish i had used that before i bought Oblivion. I thought it would be the same as morrowind. and i was wrong.

.... Would have saved me a lot of money:D :D

smurfy
April 13th, 2006, 04:55 AM
A note of warning - While this tool is good for the most part, it's SOUND check is minimal - games that have specific sound hardware requirements are not picked up and the machine sound hardware is not always accurately identified anyway.
If your system passes this test, just double check the sound requirements before you rush out and buy that title.

A specific case in point is F.E.A.R. which really needs sound hardware & drivers to be up to scratch.

My machine can run it - just - Demo only despite the failed SRL test (fails on CPU type & speed - I was amazed because I'm considerably under the minimum) but the sound is terrible because my sound hardware is outdated.

chris t
May 24th, 2006, 01:58 AM
beh it lies to my face that thing
calling my duo a p3 rrr
combined my procesor reaches 2.9Ghz
it does not support dual core(obhiously)

Pi rules
July 25th, 2006, 12:56 PM
It supports the Pentium D series (I have the 930):

Congratulations, your system will ROCK this product! Wish we had a system that hot you lucky dog.
I wish my system was as good as they make it sound. The video card only has 4 pipleines. :(

My question about it is why some of the analysis values change between "Minimum" and "Recommended" like XP and my graphics card. When I tested for Madden 06, XP got a 3 on "minimum" and a 4 on recommended; my graphics card got a 4 on "minimum" and a 5 on recommended. :confused: If anything, shouldn't those ratings go down?

Thanks a lot for this link, Smurfy and Rainbow32! :wave:

Vercades
July 25th, 2006, 02:07 PM
I would think that when you choose recommended the scale is changed on another standard.

Man this is tough to type out in words. Wish me luck.

When it shows you minimum it's on a wider scale so if you are full bars in minimum you're sure to have the recommended requirements.

Now recommended is on a thinner scale for accuracy and, to tell how close you really are to being recommended or not.

Pi rules
July 25th, 2006, 02:31 PM
I agree. That's why it doesn't make since that my graphics card would be rated better on "recommended" than "minimum". My graphics card isn't that good so the scale should be tougher on both it and XP in "recommended" mode. I could maybe see XP being rated higher if a game performs better with it than 9x/ME or something, but what about the graphics card?

Vercades
July 25th, 2006, 03:20 PM
It looks like it works like a X&Y axis, displayed in a bar graph.

Minimum uses the entire axis, while recommended uses a specific portion depending on the game chosen.

blackfoot
February 10th, 2007, 01:08 PM
Hi, Thanks for your help, your info has prevented me making a big mistake-great site-Blackfoot

blackfoot
February 10th, 2007, 01:09 PM
Hi that thanks goes to Smurfy-Blackfoot

TranceAddict
July 24th, 2007, 09:25 PM
It keeps telling my my video card is not good enough in the main result.. however my system surpasses all of the games video requirements by miles. Does this mean my video card is fine and its just a SRL problem?

Pepper2003
August 26th, 2007, 12:20 PM
Well according to this my system should have no problem running RCT3 or the Sims 2, but it won't run them.

Link0nline
September 22nd, 2007, 12:30 PM
Thads odd... I thougd Counter Strike Source was more dificult for my computer than Call of Duty 2...

kongchar
May 6th, 2008, 09:53 PM
I have an xbox 360 and about every half an hour my live will automatically log itself off. I believe it is a software problem because I have 3 out of 4 bars in the basement. I have the WRT54GS linksys router and my wireless system has an internet monitor called D-Link securespot. It is a problem for my gaming because I get negative exp. Any help you can give me would be greatly appreciated.

~Kongchar

jarichonas
June 5th, 2010, 10:13 AM
thanks for this very usefull tool