PDA

View Full Version : Disk Space


Gary_Buska
March 19th, 2015, 05:22 PM
I am running Windows 8.1 and it is installed on a 80 gig hard drive.
The problem I am having is I am running out of space on it.
I have gone through all of my programs and uninstalled any that were on the C drive and reinstalled them on a different drive.
I am trying to figure out what else I can remove from this drive to free up space.
Any help would be appreciated
I doubt if I can install a new hard drive without having to buy a new version of Windows 8. The version I have is a OEM version
And it is my understanding if I change my hard drive I will not be able to reinstall the one I have. Is this true?

Ned Seagoon
March 19th, 2015, 05:53 PM
80G nearly used, do you have movies, photos and music tracks saved. If so a solution is to buy an external drive and transfer them to this. You could keep the internal drive for the operating system and programs while storing everything else documents, movies photos music on the external drive.

I have such an external drive 2Tb cost $100 Australian.

The other this to look for is partitions on your HDD that perhaps you are not using, saved temporary files, saved webpages deleted files in your recycle area that have not been purged. A little house keeping may clean things up.

Murf
March 19th, 2015, 05:59 PM
Windows 8.1 does have a built in disc clean up program :

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/delete-files-using-disk-cleanup#delete-files-using-disk-cleanup=windows-8

You can install another drive and move Windows 8.1 to that drive. You do this by cloning, which you will need software to do. Here is a pretty good step-by-step: With some links to free software.

http://www.techfeb.com/how-to-clone-windows-8-1-to-new-hard-drive-tutorial/

A free one:
http://www.backup-utility.com/windows-8/transfer-windows-8-to-new-hard-drive.html

Gary_Buska
March 20th, 2015, 01:25 AM
After cloning can I than remove and replace the C drive and than clone back to my now bigger C drive and not have a problem with having to register windows again.

Murf
March 20th, 2015, 03:14 AM
YES. OEM copies are tied to the motherboard and processor not the hard drive. After cloning back to the new drive, leave it on the old drive just in case, but you should not have any problems just switching a hard drive.

Gary_Buska
March 20th, 2015, 12:51 PM
Thanks Murf
I knew that some one here could help me out.
I thought something had happened to this site as I could not connect for at least a month I kept getting a error message stating that it could not perform the action.
I was glad to see the site come back up.

Murf
March 20th, 2015, 04:55 PM
Hope it goes OK. The site has been up and down but I only had a problem for about 2 days, until ADMIN got it fixed. If you could not get on for that long, you must have a browser problem with security. If it happens on other sites, reset your security in the browser to defaults.