PDA

View Full Version : Open some file types

salamifreak
April 20th, 2004, 01:16 AM
Hello. I'm new to Linux, and would like to know about what program to download to open the file types
mid
exe
mp3

could anyone help?

twistedcranium
April 20th, 2004, 01:48 AM
Hello there and welcome to the wonderful world of Linux!!

First the easy one to explain: mp3
mp3 files can be played in a number of audio players in linux, and depending upon the distribution (RedHat, SuSE, Mandrake, etc) that you are using, there may already be a player installed. XMMS, found at http://www.xmms.org/ is probably the most widely used application to play audio files, including mp3s, in Linux.

mid:
XMMS, mentioned above can play midi files with the help of an additional plugin that must be installed or if you are using KDE as your DesktopEnvironment, try kmid. There are others as well, look at http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/MIDI-HOWTO-8.html, for more info.

exe:
here is where the explaining gets a little tougher. EXE type files are executable files (aka programs) that are ONLY 'openable' on Windows systems (and even at that some EXE files only run on certain versions of windows). So you cannot take a Windows executable and run it on a linux system.** There are however, excutable files for Linux systems, and these can be run on Linux systems. Executable programs are built specifically for a particular system and will not run on another system. There are many applications that are built in different versions to run on Windows, MAC, and Linux systems, but you need the version specific to your system.

Hope this helps.