Cyber Tech Help Support Forums

Cyber Tech Help Support Forums (https://www.cybertechhelp.com/forums/index.php)
-   Windows 10 (https://www.cybertechhelp.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=48)
-   -   what runs in background. (https://www.cybertechhelp.com/forums/showthread.php?t=234074)

lcyber March 18th, 2020 01:23 PM

what runs in background.
 
My Packardbell is painfully slow again ,does this indicate lots of activity in background ,if so, how do I discover what is running.

SpywareDr March 18th, 2020 08:29 PM

1) Yes
2) Task Manager

Digerati March 19th, 2020 03:35 PM

Quote:

does this indicate lots of activity in background
Maybe. But modern versions of Windows are pretty good at managing background processes so they don't bog down our systems when we are using them.

Sadly, you told us absolutely nothing about your system. You are showing 64-bit W7 but you posted in the W10 forum! ??? Beyond that, we have no clue if this is a PC or notebook, the model, how much RAM, how much free disk space, etc.

There are many things that will slow down a system. Malware can. Running low on free disk space with installed programs can. Running low on free disk space due to excessive clutter can. Even a bad Ethernet cable can cause a computer to slow down.

IPR512 March 19th, 2020 07:15 PM

He keeps starting new threads about the same problem.
https://www.cybertechhelp.com/forums...d.php?t=234067

wangyan March 30th, 2020 09:00 AM

To find out what is running in the background, you can press ctrl+alt+delete to open task manager and click "Processes". Then you can check all apps or programs that are running in the background and slow down your computer. If you find the disk usage is 100 percent, you had better close some running apps, or reset virtual memory to keep the computer in a healthy status.

Digerati March 30th, 2020 04:16 PM

Quote:

or reset virtual memory to keep the computer in a healthy status.
Huh? Reset virtual memory? Sorry, but that really makes no sense.

I note virtual memory is your installed RAM plus the page file. You can't reset your installed RAM. You can "re-seat" it (remove and reinstall) but if your total RAM is being recognized, it is best to leave it alone or risk physical damage and/or zapping it with ESD.

As for the page file, other than rebooting, you cannot reset it either beyond dinking with the settings. But unless a true expert in memory management (and few people are), it is best to just let Windows manage our page files. Contrary to what some want everyone to believe, the developers at Microsoft really are pretty good at what they do and more importantly, Windows really does know how to manage its resource efficiently - if we don't dink with the default settings, and ensure there is a nice chunk of free disk space for it to operate freely in.

Beyond that, Jill is right and the OP has multiple threads on this same topic, and has not returned to this one in nearly 2 weeks. This thread needs to go dormant and sink to the bottom and not be dredged up again.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:12 PM.

Copyright © Cyber Tech Help. All rights reserved. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.