Cyber Tech Help Support Forums

Cyber Tech Help Support Forums (https://www.cybertechhelp.com/forums/index.php)
-   Hardware (https://www.cybertechhelp.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Installing XP: ***STOP: 0x0000007B (0xF78D2524,0xC0000034,0x00000000,0x00000000)? (https://www.cybertechhelp.com/forums/showthread.php?t=156593)

dan57 June 2nd, 2007 12:32 PM

Installing XP: ***STOP: 0x0000007B (0xF78D2524,0xC0000034,0x00000000,0x00000000)?
 
Hi all!

I've recently built myself a new computer and am now experiencing a strange error whenever I attempt to install Windows XP.
After booting the CD a blue screen appears with the error message:
***STOP: 0x0000007B (0xF78D2524,0xC0000034,0x00000000,0x00000000)

My computer is made up of the following new components:
Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition SP2 OEM Single

Intel Core 2 Duo E4300, Socket 775, 1.80 GHz, 800MHz FSB, Allendale Core, 2MB Cache, Retail

256MB Sapphire Radeon X1950Pro, PCI-E(x16), Mem 1400MHz GDDR3, GPU 580MHz, 36Pipes, Dual DVI, TV-Out

Asus P5LD2VM-DH/C, i945G, S775, PCI-E (x16), DDR2 533/667, SATA II, SATA RAID, uATX, On Board VGA

2Gb (2X1Gb) Corsair Value Select, DDR2 PC4300 (533), 240 Pin, Non-ECC Unbuffered, CAS 4-4-4-12

500W NORTHQ Low Noise 12-17db 120MM FAN, 2 x PCI EXP, ATX 2.0, 4x S-ATA Active PFC, 20/24pin BULK

and the following old components:
Maxtor 6Y060L0 61.4GB(quick formated)

MSI CD-RW + DVD-ROM No.X48


I have tried using a differnet hard drive, a different CD-ROM drive other software, but it still won't work!

Since I don't now to much about PCs I'm at the end of my knowledge at the moment. Please help me!

Thanks in advance!
~D~

Murray S. June 2nd, 2007 05:04 PM

Howdy and welcome to CTH:

Take a look HERE at the Microsoft fix.

Murray

thegladi8tor January 29th, 2008 11:06 AM

ICT Engineer
 
I had the same problem with a Dell Optiplex 330. I received the
STOP 0x0000007B(0xF78DA63C,0x0000034,0X x0000000,0x0000000 error message if I booted with Windows XP. I resolved the issue by the following actions

1. On start up (Dell logo), press F2 to enter BIOS

2. Expand the "Drives" section

3. Go to "SATA Operation"

4. Change this from "RAID Auto/AHCI" to "RAID Auto/ATA"

doodles May 29th, 2008 02:49 PM

A big thanks to thegladi8tor
 
thegladi8tor,

Just wanted to show my appreciation by registering here and thanking you for your tip, I have been on the phone to dell twice to try and fix this issue and I was told (the first time) My new 500 GB drive that they replaced was faulty and the second call that I just needed to download the Dell diagnostic's and that would fix the issue, 2 words for dell support ABSOLUTE SPASTICS.

Thanks thegladi8tor

Regards
Doodles. :afro:

PockyBum522 August 6th, 2008 04:19 AM

Thanks gladiator, for making my life easier too :)

lednilo August 25th, 2008 09:27 PM

Thanks alot, I have seriously been fighting this exact problem for the last 14 hours, and I finally got it to work because of you guys.

paulqueen September 4th, 2008 08:11 AM

LMAO! THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! AHHHHH!!!!
this was a total oversight (like making sure your pc is plugged in type of thing if it isnt working) and you saved me from vista!

I was trying to install a barebones version of XP on a laptop I bought a month ago and eventually gave up after trying everything I could think of and searching online until I came across this post. For a little while there I had even 'gave up' temporarily and decided to give Vista a try (it runs about as fast on my ASUS M50VM-X1 laptop as my 3 year old athlon XP box at home runs with a barebones XP!!!! vista is effing sad)

again, thanks so much

Villa September 6th, 2008 03:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by thegladi8tor (Post 962474)
I had the same problem with a Dell Optiplex 330. I received the
STOP 0x0000007B(0xF78DA63C,0x0000034,0X x0000000,0x0000000 error message if I booted with Windows XP. I resolved the issue by the following actions

1. On start up (Dell logo), press F2 to enter BIOS

2. Expand the "Drives" section

3. Go to "SATA Operation"

4. Change this from "RAID Auto/AHCI" to "RAID Auto/ATA"

Hi, I too just registered in order to say a big thanks for this piece of information.
I have spent many hours in frustration trying to figure out why my PC blue screen crashes during the start of the Windows Setup from DVD.
I followed the advice about the Drive Operation and this allowed the setup program to run fine.

Many thanks indeed !

agrikk September 10th, 2008 07:25 PM

Keep in mind that changing this from "RAID Auto/AHCI" to "RAID Auto/ATA" will turn off the high-performance features of the controller and put it into compatibility mode.

NIC0908 September 18th, 2008 04:59 PM

I have also experienced this exact same issue on the Dell Optiplex 745 and 755 systems.

Now I am seeing a similar issue on the new Dell Latitude E6400. However, the BIOS options have changed slightly. The E series laptop default setting is listed under "SATA Operation" and is set to "IRRT" but needs to be set to "ATA" for a VL copy of XP to install without the above BSOD.

(BTW The Dell OEM XP and Vista Disks did not have any problems with the "IRRT" setting)

sweeper1978 October 15th, 2008 12:07 AM

Very Helpful!!
 
Thanks for the good advice :)
It worked perfectly...
I had also been trying for days to get the Windows XP pro setup tp work.
Thanks again,
Shawn

yassin October 15th, 2008 09:30 PM

Thank you thegladi8tor
 
Thank you thegladi8tor for saving me valuable time!!!

I just bought a dell precision 2400 and xp was *****in' with it's popular bluescreen. Your solution made it shut up and work like it is supposed to.

Again, thank you.

Moonlight1000a1 October 23rd, 2008 05:22 PM

Thanks now is instalation new xp working
Good job
Moonlight1000a1

paintballvictim November 2nd, 2008 04:14 PM

Thank you!!!!!!!
 
thegladi8tor.... the only thing i have to say is.... I APPRECIATE EVERYTHING!!!!!

I got a virus on the computer, so had to reformat/.... the xp disk woodnt work, so i was asking everyone... trying every disk, everything, i even hooked up the hard drive to another computer and had the other computer reformat it, then i was stuck and i had absolutely nothing... then my mom called my past computer guy, which i HATE because he talks to me like i am a complete retard... i am not a fan of him... thank you soo much!!!!!!

aguaholic November 5th, 2008 04:53 PM

I'm getting the same thing here....in the bios i do not see anywhere i can make a change for the SATA drive. The computer is a HP Pavilion dv7-1130us. Can someone please help. I took the HD out and connected it to a desktop and reformatted the drive. Installed it back into the laptop and tried again to re-install xp. The laptop has a AMD Turion X2 64 bit processor.

I do not see anywhere to make that change

Any ideas?

Thanks!


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:46 PM.

Copyright © Cyber Tech Help. All rights reserved. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.