Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows 7

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old April 21st, 2014, 08:16 AM
*PewPew*'s Avatar
*PewPew* *PewPew* is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Australia
Age: 14
Posts: 222
Windows 7 HDMI Sound Output Problem!

Hey guys!


Turned on my laptop yesterday (connected to a 32' TV via HDMI), usually gives me sound out of the TV but randomly stopped working!

Here is what i've done:

1. Switched to a different tv (same problem)
2. Changed HDMI Cable (same problem)
3. Uninstalled audio driver, intel (high definition audio device) and reinstalled.
4. Tried to enable the HDMI in control panel under "Sound", there is no option only the standard driver (see pictures)
5. Also right clicked and checked "Show Disabled and Disconnected "
6. Uninstalled graphics driver ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5650 and Reinstalled.
7. Tried to install a realtek driver.. didnt work


Computer specs:

Product Name: HP Pavilion Dv6-3034tx

Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

Processor: Intel i5 @ 2.27GHz.

Memory: 6GB Ram

Graphics 1: Intel HD Graphics (p.s. couldn't uninstall, black screen)

Graphics 2: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5650


Iv'e tried most things and i am out of ideas.

The sound will not come out of the TV but will come out of the Laptop.. I have uploaded a few pictures below to help!


Thanks guys!




Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old April 21st, 2014, 06:41 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 75
Posts: 17,264
That Laptop uses the IDT HD Audio Driver

HERE

If that isn't the one you installed try it.

Configure the default audio playback device:
a.
Right-click the Speakers icon in the notification area at the far right of the taskbar.

b.
Click Playback devices.

c.
On the Playback tab, click either Digital Output or Digital Output Device (HDMI).

d.
Click Set Default.

e. Click OK.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 22nd, 2014, 07:43 AM
*PewPew*'s Avatar
*PewPew* *PewPew* is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Australia
Age: 14
Posts: 222




Thanks for replying murf.

Thats what i got after installing the driver and still there is no sound through HDMI.. i tried to even set the bottom one "independent headphones" to default but wouldn't let me.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 22nd, 2014, 08:42 AM
smurfy's Avatar
smurfy smurfy is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
O/S: Linux
Location: Christchurch New Zealand
Posts: 9,535
You should have 2 "High Definition" audio devices in Device manager and audio playback devices. The on-board audio chip (which you have) and the ATI Radeon HDMI chip
e.g.


From device manager, view devices by connection and browse to the video card section - will probably show up under a PCI bridge connection, then "scan for hardware changes" and see if it picks up the Video HDMI chip under the same bridge.

Seems picky sometimes when you install the AMD Catalyst whether it will pick up and install a driver for the audio or not.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 2nd, 2014, 04:29 AM
bern4rdo's Avatar
bern4rdo bern4rdo is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Miami Florida
Posts: 3
It's in the settings. Open the volume control while you have the home plugged in,click on sounds and change it (it should have 2 options on there)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:19 PM.