Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows 10

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old December 28th, 2018, 05:40 AM
sebastian42 sebastian42 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 99
Toggling which monitor is the primary one.

Because occasionally I want to be able to use in the secondary monitor, Screen Marker which only works in the Primary monitor of a two monitor system, I want to be able to quickly and easily toggle which of my monitors is the primary. I can manually do the steps through DISPLAY, which gives the result I want. I feel sure that a macro can be devised that can be applied by the click of a mouse through a batch file to achieve this - even if that macro requires a third party program like Autohotkey or Macro Express (both of which I have and use). I know from experience that it would take an immense amount of effort on my part to succeed, so I wonder if a programmer, for whom this would be a minor task, would do the hard work for me ? My system is the 32bit version of Windows 10 Pro v1809.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old December 28th, 2018, 01:42 PM
Miz's Avatar
Miz Miz is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Kansas
Age: 73
Posts: 12,056
The Windows key + P combination should display four options which may work for you.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 29th, 2018, 05:44 PM
Digerati Digerati is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 2,404
You might want to check out UltraMon not free, but worth it IMO. Among its many features, you can easily change Primary monitors via its System Tray icon right-click menu. It has a free trial version so you can check it out first. But it is good to know if you decide to purchase it, it is a one-time cost of $40 for a lifetime (your lifetime) license. That is, should you upgrade to a new computer, you can legally transfer the license to it over and over again. If for personal (non-commerical) use, 1 license is good for all the computers in your home. This makes that $40 much less painful.

See also the free DisplayFusion. While, nice too, the pro (paid) versions are better.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:12 AM.