Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows 7

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old October 6th, 2009, 09:12 PM
ccorkum ccorkum is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
Windows 7 professional. Internet not working

I have very little computer knowlage so I hope someone can help me.

I just upgraded my OS to Windows 7 Professional and now my internet doesn't work properly. I can still use google and some other websites but It just wont load Microsoft and most websites. I have tried multiple web browsers and it doesn't matter, they all are the same. Since Microsoft wont connect I can't activate Windows 7 so I'm in quite a pickle.

Can someone please help?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old October 6th, 2009, 09:31 PM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
Hello ccorkum. Where did you purchase your upgrade from? Windows 7 is not for sale yet.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 7th, 2009, 08:04 PM
ccorkum ccorkum is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
I got it through school
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 7th, 2009, 11:07 PM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
I see. Well you have 30 days to activate your copy of Windows 7 and an Internet connection is not necessary, you can activate over the phone. Click on the Start Orb and type activation into the Search Programs and Files box. Activate Windows will appear at the top of the menu. Click on it and you should find all the details you need if the online activation is not successful.

Regarding your problem accessing sites. How do you connect to the Internet. Do you use a router and/or the school network?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 7th, 2009, 11:20 PM
ccorkum ccorkum is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
I use a wireless router. its on my home computer
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 7th, 2009, 11:38 PM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
The problem might be caused by your router. Have you tried restarting it? If not, please do so and when you have done this, reboot Windows too.

If you still have a problem, click on the Start button and type cmd.exe in the Search Programs and Files box. Rightclick on it and choose "Run as Administrator". Copy and paste the below commands after the prompt> and hit enter after each line.

ipconfig /flushdns
ipconfig /release
ipconfig /renew

Close the command prompt and reboot again. Can you access the problem sites now?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 8th, 2009, 01:23 AM
ccorkum ccorkum is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
No i still can't
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old October 8th, 2009, 01:41 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
Well you can get online so it's more likely to be a router issue. Post a new topic in the Networking forum and someone will help you troubleshoot it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:38 AM.