Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows 7

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old September 22nd, 2011, 07:43 PM
NYKrumrie NYKrumrie is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Posts: 119
Windows Update on Win7 x64 won't launch

I'm having all kinds of issues with my Acer Laptop running Win7 Pro SP1. I have not been able to launch the "windows update" feature for weeks. I get a notice when I boot that new updates are available. I click on the window that says the updates is ready & nothing happens. I click on the little flag at the bottom right corner of the screen. I select updates & nothing happens. Then I try to go to Start-All programs-Windows Update. I click on it. The process circle appears for a split second then nothing happens. Basically everything I try I can not launch Windows Update. I even tried Microsoft Fixit.exe. It found the problem but couldn't do anything about it, Can anyone tell me what is going on & how do I fix it.
Thanks!
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old September 22nd, 2011, 11:41 PM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
This could be related to the other issue you are having. Let's get that sorted out first and then we can look at this one, if it still exists.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 23rd, 2011, 05:41 AM
NYKrumrie NYKrumrie is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Posts: 119
Ok sounds good so what is the first thing I need to do to try & figure out what the problem is & how to solve it. Is there a diagnostic tool I should use? What's my first step. Though it has not happened as often other programs have behaved similarly. I click on them they never launch. I've also experienced a problem closing programs. I'd go to task manager & try to "end process" on something that was running. The window pops up to confirm you want to end process. I confirm but the program does not stop. I even try "end process tree" no luck. I can't kill the program. There has not been 1 specific program that does this, but it happens time to time.
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 23rd, 2011, 10:09 PM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
Ok, it looks like thrid party software is causing the problem with your shutdown issue and it may also be causing this problem too. Once you identify which software it is, we can see if uninstalling it, fixes this particular issue.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:39 PM.