Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows 10

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old October 12th, 2019, 04:51 AM
Jaytee's Avatar
Jaytee Jaytee is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
O/S: Linux
Location: Hamilton New Zealand
Posts: 3,184
Win 10 activation fail.

Hi All,
Yes! It has been a while how ever let me rant for a bit.
I have acquired about 20 Windows 7 pro licences 14 HP and the balance in Dell. Reason for this is that I am a volunteer computer support/ sys admin for a couple of community centres in my home town (yeah the Tron) Usually I have no problem as I just blow away Windows then install the latest LTS of Linux Mint which I did with ease for ten of the machines.
As far as I know Windows 10 pro can be installed on a Win7 pro licence.
The problem is that I need Windows for three members of the community that I support I have installed Win10 pro on one HP machine so far but neither the HP or the Dell product keys have accepted.
Any help here will be appreciated.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old October 12th, 2019, 10:31 AM
Jintan's Avatar
Jintan Jintan is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 51,883
Hey Jaytee. Each version of Windows requires that version's product key, so no, Win 7 keys will not activate Win 10 installs.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 12th, 2019, 06:17 PM
Jaytee's Avatar
Jaytee Jaytee is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
O/S: Linux
Location: Hamilton New Zealand
Posts: 3,184
Dammit Jintan I was told that as long the Win 10 download matched the Win7 e.g pro7 pro10
then they would activate. so I need a Win7 pro dvd then do the upgrade?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 12th, 2019, 08:01 PM
renegade600's Avatar
renegade600 renegade600 is offline
Certifiable Bum
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
O/S: Linux
Location: Osceola, Ar
Posts: 26,467
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaytee View Post
Dammit Jintan I was told that as long the Win 10 download matched the Win7 e.g pro7 pro10
then they would activate. so I need a Win7 pro dvd then do the upgrade?
is the following what you are talking about?

https://www.zdnet.com/article/heres-...ws-10-upgrade/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 12th, 2019, 08:35 PM
Jaytee's Avatar
Jaytee Jaytee is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
O/S: Linux
Location: Hamilton New Zealand
Posts: 3,184
Hi Renegade,
Yes it is.. I did get Win10pro to install eventually. When I try to activate Windows I get an error message that the P/Key for that machine is blocked If I use the Dell key it simply declines.
Is there a disadvantage to operating the machine without activation???

Last edited by Jaytee; October 12th, 2019 at 08:41 PM. Reason: spel
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 12th, 2019, 09:35 PM
renegade600's Avatar
renegade600 renegade600 is offline
Certifiable Bum
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
O/S: Linux
Location: Osceola, Ar
Posts: 26,467
did the computer ever had win10 installed and activated before? if you are doing the same as the article mentioned, then it also stated it did not work for everyone. I am not that familiar with that install method.

as far as disadvantages of not activating, two that I know of, nag screens and not getting windows updates. there could be others.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 12th, 2019, 09:57 PM
Jaytee's Avatar
Jaytee Jaytee is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
O/S: Linux
Location: Hamilton New Zealand
Posts: 3,184
Quote:
Originally Posted by renegade600 View Post
did the computer ever had win10 installed and activated before?
as far as disadvantages of not activating, two that I know of, nag screens and not getting windows updates. there could be others.
These machines did have Windows10pro installed on Windows7pro licences they belonged to a training institution and were disk wiped before they were gifted to us.
If this becomes a major problem I have a couple of windows7 home premium licenses that I can dig out and use.

I would have turned Windows update off so that bit is not a worry.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old October 12th, 2019, 10:28 PM
renegade600's Avatar
renegade600 renegade600 is offline
Certifiable Bum
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
O/S: Linux
Location: Osceola, Ar
Posts: 26,467
since it had win10 on it before, take a win10 disk and do a full install of win10. when it asks for a key, just leave it blank. it should auto activate - depending on the original license. I have done this on several of my computers.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old October 13th, 2019, 12:54 AM
Jaytee's Avatar
Jaytee Jaytee is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
O/S: Linux
Location: Hamilton New Zealand
Posts: 3,184
Quote:
Originally Posted by renegade600 View Post
since it had win10 on it before, take a win10 disk and do a full install of win10. when it asks for a key, just leave it blank. it should auto activate - depending on the original license. I have done this on several of my computers.
That is precisely what I did but it still requires activation.

The machines are five year old i5 guad core with ssd drives. I am assuming that Wintec (the donor) kept the licences for their new machines as W10 is as modern as it gets in Windows afaik.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old October 13th, 2019, 01:18 AM
renegade600's Avatar
renegade600 renegade600 is offline
Certifiable Bum
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
O/S: Linux
Location: Osceola, Ar
Posts: 26,467
usually companies have two licenses, the one that came with the computer and one for what they install. could be the oem license was home not pro. if this is the case, you might be able to install home instead of pro. the only real difference between the two is bitlocker an wip.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old October 13th, 2019, 01:27 AM
Jaytee's Avatar
Jaytee Jaytee is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
O/S: Linux
Location: Hamilton New Zealand
Posts: 3,184
Quote:
Originally Posted by renegade600 View Post
usually companies have two licenses, the one that came with the computer and one for what they install. could be the oem license was home not pro. if this is the case, you might be able to install home instead of pro. the only real difference between the two is bitlocker an wip.
I have another install tonight I will give that a go
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old October 13th, 2019, 04:12 AM
Jaytee's Avatar
Jaytee Jaytee is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
O/S: Linux
Location: Hamilton New Zealand
Posts: 3,184
Hmmn!! That plan turned to custard with the ssd crashing. Fun fact, they do not whir, click, crackle or report bad blocks they just plumb quit. Looks like tomorrow is a shopping day.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old October 14th, 2019, 09:49 PM
Jaytee's Avatar
Jaytee Jaytee is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
O/S: Linux
Location: Hamilton New Zealand
Posts: 3,184
Got the hardware fixed still have the problem. I installed win7 home premium and tried the key to no avail.
I need to dig around my dead boxes to find a couple of keys
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old October 14th, 2019, 10:21 PM
renegade600's Avatar
renegade600 renegade600 is offline
Certifiable Bum
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
O/S: Linux
Location: Osceola, Ar
Posts: 26,467
you could always join the win10 insiders program and you will get win10 free. just got to put up with some of their updates and changes.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old October 15th, 2019, 04:55 AM
Jaytee's Avatar
Jaytee Jaytee is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
O/S: Linux
Location: Hamilton New Zealand
Posts: 3,184
Hi Dan. not that keen I will find some keys. The bummer is that I have chucked heaps of these away in the past as I usually blow away Windows and install Linux. Lesson learned write the key before you ecycle...............
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:00 AM.