Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows 7

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old June 29th, 2018, 12:59 PM
adambarnes adambarnes is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 17
Windows Network Diagnostics

Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit

My ISP agreed to help me change my IP address.
Had me physically disconnect modem, and reboot.
Did not work.

Trying to use CMD prompt to refresh IP address

Getting error messages:

No operation can be performed on Local Area Connection 2 while it has its media disconnected.

No operation can be performed on Wireless Network Connection 2 while it has its media disconnected.

Ran the "Windows Network Diagnostics"

It says "Local Area Connection" doesn't have a valid IP configuration

Last edited by adambarnes; June 29th, 2018 at 01:04 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old June 29th, 2018, 04:20 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 73
Posts: 17,022
Click Start->Run, type cmd and press Enter. Type ipconfig /release at the prompt window, press Enter, it will release the current IP configuration.

Type ipconfig /renew at the prompt window, press Enter, wait for a while, the DHCP server will assign a new IP address for your computer.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 29th, 2018, 04:40 PM
adambarnes adambarnes is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 17
Thank you.

Maybe the OP was not clear? I had ALREADY DONE exactly what you say to do, and it resulted in the Error Messages in the OP





Quote:
Originally Posted by Murf View Post
Click Start->Run, type cmd and press Enter. Type ipconfig /release at the prompt window, press Enter, it will release the current IP configuration.

Type ipconfig /renew at the prompt window, press Enter, wait for a while, the DHCP server will assign a new IP address for your computer.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 30th, 2018, 03:29 AM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 73
Posts: 17,022
Try this:


Right click on "Network" then click properties, click change adapter settings, right click on your Local Area connection. Uncheck "Internet Protocol Version 6 TCP/IPv6" select. Then go to IPv4 hit properties, make sure Obtain IP address automatically is selected and obtain DNS automatically.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 30th, 2018, 11:52 AM
adambarnes adambarnes is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 17
Thank you. Did those things.

Disconnected modem from power and from cable. Waited about five minutes.

Rebooted computer.

Tried again ipconfig/renew

same error messages as in OP

Still same IP address.


Local Area Connection
Network 2
Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller

Local Area Connection 2
Network Cable Unplugged
TAP Windows Adapter V9

Wireless Network Connection
Not connected
802.11 Wireless LAN Card

Wireless Network Connection 2
Not connected
Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport A...

Last edited by adambarnes; June 30th, 2018 at 12:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 30th, 2018, 04:35 PM
Digerati Digerati is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 2,334
What IP address are you talking about?

Make sure you are talking about the IP address assigned by your ISP and not the IP address assigned to your computer by your router/modem.

If you keep seeing something like 192.168.1.3, then that is from your router/modem.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old June 30th, 2018, 09:30 PM
adambarnes adambarnes is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 17
No idea what you are talking about.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Digerati View Post
What IP address are you talking about?

Make sure you are talking about the IP address assigned by your ISP and not the IP address assigned to your computer by your router/modem.

If you keep seeing something like 192.168.1.3, then that is from your router/modem.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old June 30th, 2018, 10:44 PM
Digerati Digerati is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 2,334
Quote:
No idea what you are talking about.
Your ISP issues you an IP address. This is assigned to your "gateway" device, which is typically your cable/DSL modem.

Most home networks then have a router connected to the modem - though in the last couple years, the routers are integrated with the modem in one box.

Note these devices often have yet another network device integrated within, the WAP or wireless access point. 3 separate network devices that just happen to share a circuit board, case and power supply.

Taking it further, most also have a 4-port Ethernet switch too - so they are really 4 in one devices.

If you have just one device, the modem, and it has 4 Ethernet ports on the back, then you have an integrated 4-in-one "gateway device.

If you have a separate modem and a router, then your router is likely a "wireless router" and integrates the router, WAP and 4-port switch in one device. In either case, the router portion issues each of your connected devices unique and new IP addresses which typically start with 192.168.

If you only have a basic modem, it will have one input and one output and you can only connect one computer to your entire network. That would be very rare these days a most home have several devices that connect (multiple computers, cell phones via wireless, networked printers, "smart" TVs and BlueRay players, tablets and more).

My point is, your ISP may have issued you a new IP address that your modem assumed. But your router kept the same 192.168.xxx.xxx addresses to your connected computers. That would not be uncommon.

Clear as mud, huh?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old June 30th, 2018, 10:51 PM
IPR512's Avatar
IPR512 IPR512 is offline
Jill
 
Join Date: May 2006
O/S: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Tampabay area of Florida
Posts: 2,200
You can go here to see your IP address.
https://whatismyipaddress.com/
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old July 1st, 2018, 02:36 AM
adambarnes adambarnes is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 17
All that is useless. A waste of your time and mine.

Unless you tell me EXACT STEPS to obtain the information you are asking for, I cannot answer.

I do not know, or really care about all this. I simply want to obtain a new
IP address.

It's a modem hardwired to a cable. That's all I know.




Quote:
Originally Posted by Digerati View Post
Your ISP issues you an IP address. This is assigned to your "gateway" device, which is typically your cable/DSL modem.

Most home networks then have a router connected to the modem - though in the last couple years, the routers are integrated with the modem in one box.

Note these devices often have yet another network device integrated within, the WAP or wireless access point. 3 separate network devices that just happen to share a circuit board, case and power supply.

Taking it further, most also have a 4-port Ethernet switch too - so they are really 4 in one devices.

If you have just one device, the modem, and it has 4 Ethernet ports on the back, then you have an integrated 4-in-one "gateway device.

If you have a separate modem and a router, then your router is likely a "wireless router" and integrates the router, WAP and 4-port switch in one device. In either case, the router portion issues each of your connected devices unique and new IP addresses which typically start with 192.168.

If you only have a basic modem, it will have one input and one output and you can only connect one computer to your entire network. That would be very rare these days a most home have several devices that connect (multiple computers, cell phones via wireless, networked printers, "smart" TVs and BlueRay players, tablets and more).

My point is, your ISP may have issued you a new IP address that your modem assumed. But your router kept the same 192.168.xxx.xxx addresses to your connected computers. That would not be uncommon.

Clear as mud, huh?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old July 1st, 2018, 02:38 AM
adambarnes adambarnes is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 17
Thank you. I already knew how to check my current
IP address. That is how I knew, after following various steps to
refresh the iP, that it had not changed.

I have NO IDEA what 'type' of IP address it is.

I dont' really care, just want to change it.



Quote:
Originally Posted by IPR512 View Post
You can go here to see your IP address.
https://whatismyipaddress.com/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:43 AM.