Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows Vista

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #46  
Old February 3rd, 2008, 06:03 PM
reghakr reghakr is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1
Tweaking IE7

If you use the Google Toolbar with IE7, you can remove the stock search box.

Open Notepad and copy and paste the following between the lines and save the file as Nosearchbox.reg. Double-click on this file to make the change to the registry. Then hit F5 on an empty part of the desktop and open Internet Explorer.
=================================
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Inte rnet Explorer\Infodelivery\Restrictions]
"NoSearchBox"=dword:00000001
=================================

Bring the File menu to the top as it was in IE6.....again open Notepad and copy and paste the following between the lines and save the file as ITBar7Position.reg. Double-click on this file to make the change to the registry. Then hit F5 on an empty part of the desktop and open Internet Explorer.

==================================
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Toolbar\WebBrowser]
"ITBar7Position"=dword:00000001
==================================

You can remove the Command Bar by creating a new key. Go to Start > Run (Classic Menu) ,or the Win key + R, type regedit and hit enter. Navigate to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer. Right-click on the Internet Explorer key amd choose New > Key. Name it CommandBar. Right-click on the CommandBar key, choose New > DWORD value and name it Enabled. To hide the Command Bar, give it a value of 0. To enable it, give it a value of 1.

To make this change for all users of the computer, you will need to use the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE key

reghakr
Reply With Quote


  #47  
Old July 22nd, 2008, 11:25 PM
CompDreamer CompDreamer is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8
If you goto the start button and then games you can right click on the games that support direct x10 and click which version you want it to load with.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old November 20th, 2008, 11:41 PM
Taiga Taiga is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
O/S: Windows Vista
Location: Florida
Posts: 77
Vista Basics, Tweaks and Tips

If you have purchased a computer within the last couple years, chances are it has a multiple core CPU (dual-core, triple-core, quad-core, etc...). The main benefit to a multi-core processor is for multi-tasking. You can surf the web, watch a video, and reply to emails all while being able to burn a DVD at the same time.

However, while Vista is loading, only one core is being used. You may notice that it takes a long time for your computer to fully boot-up and be ready for use. To reduce this boot time, take full advantage of the multiple cores and get the job done quicker. You can force Vista to use all available processors. To do this, please follow this tech tip below:

In the Start Menu Search Box type "msconfig". Click Enter. (You can also use this shortcut: Windows Key + R)
Navigate to the Boot tab and click Advanced Options.
Place a checkmark next to the box for Number of Processors.
Choose the number of processors you would like to use in the pull-down menu.
Check the Detect HAL box. Click OK.
Check the box that reads Make All Boot Settings Permanent. Click Apply. Click OK.
The System Configuration window will pop up. Click Yes to confirm.
Restart your computer.
I got this tip from eSupport news letter,it worked great on my PC
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old November 21st, 2008, 04:27 AM
cougar62 cougar62 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 177
That is a bogus tip btw, it is used for diagnostic purposes to see if a core is functioning properly. The boot sequence uses the full ability of the processor at default.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old January 20th, 2010, 10:27 PM
ATR-DRIVR ATR-DRIVR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: Holladay Utah
Posts: 37
cougar,
have you found a way to speed up the boot?
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old December 28th, 2010, 07:36 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
Mia, your post has been moved to the Malware Removal Forum. Be patient and someone will assist you when they have some free time to do so.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old February 22nd, 2011, 06:39 PM
maxluke maxluke is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
The tips and tweaks for Vista are holding an extra button when you are using the right mouse button on a file or folder icon you some useful options. You are not getting any younger and neither your eyes are. A well-hidden option functions can be a bit of weight on this skinny hands.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:31 AM.