Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Software > Gaming

Notices

Closed Topic
 
Topic Tools
  #16  
Old August 11th, 2007, 03:25 PM
liondad's Avatar
liondad liondad is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: SURREY /UK
Age: 73
Posts: 2,052
PLEASE READ THE INFO, WITH THESE PROGRAMS

LINK,
http://www.nvidia.com/object/sysutility.html

LINK.
http://us.download.nvidia.com/Window...user_guide.pdf


  #17  
Old September 28th, 2007, 04:28 PM
prelars prelars is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
O/S: Windows XP Home
Posts: 21
Glad I'm reading through this now! I'm experiencing similar problems while playing World of Warcraft, with the FPS simply going through the floor. I have a Dell Inspiron 5100 laptop with an ATI Radeon 9M in it, and my computer does simply shut itself off if I don't have the cooling fanpad underneath it running. That helps a good amount, but reading through this it seems as if I /might/ be able to increase the fan speed of the core fan in the laptop with those ATI Tray tools.

My question is, I've always been really hesitant of overclocking. I know it fries out the videocard if you're not extremely careful, and while I'd love to play World of Warcraft without it being a bunch of pictures clicking together, I'd also love to not have to buy a whole new video card or more. My question is: this seems to have controls for overclocking the fan itself. Does overclocking the fan hold any risks? Can you only make the fan run faster without any risk to any of the other internal components or the fan itself?

I'm also just thinking of upgrading my 256 memory stick up to a 512 so I've got the full 1G of max RAM - I just don't know if that extra 256 memory is /really/ going to make /all/ that much of a difference in the end for an extra $50. Ideas/opinions, anyone?
  #18  
Old September 28th, 2007, 05:10 PM
prelars prelars is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
O/S: Windows XP Home
Posts: 21
Hmmm. I downloaded the ATI Tray tools, but the main reason I downloaded it and what I was looking for - the fan control - in the 'Hardware > overclock settings > fan' tells me that there's no supported hardware found. I know I've obviously got a fan in my laptop, but I take it this is perhaps built more for desktops, would be my vague guess?

Anyone know how I might be able to fix this, because I've opened up every dialog box and menu settings this program provides, and it doesn't have anywhere that I can get it to recognize and control the fan within this laptop. In that 'fan control' box, it has the '[ ] Include in profile' line but it's all grayed out, and below it is just the black text: No supported hardware found. Any thoughts on how to fix this would be greatly appreciated. Thanks all!
  #19  
Old October 1st, 2007, 04:50 PM
liondad's Avatar
liondad liondad is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: SURREY /UK
Age: 73
Posts: 2,052
if you have a fan on the laptop graphic chip,
it control by the mobo bios and voltages,
ati tools is design for use with the ati graphic cards and the graphic cards bios
not mobo ati graphic chipsets,
as these chips are mobo bios driven,
I dould if any changes you to try to make will work as the program can not mod the laptops mobo bios,
And save them,
quote,
I'm also just thinking of upgrading my 256 memory stick up to a 512 so I've got the full 1G of max RAM - I just don't know if that extra 256 memory is /really/ going to make /all/ that much of a difference in the end for an extra $50. Ideas/opinions, anyone?

Any increase in RAM will speed things up and make your apps and game run better,

Last edited by liondad; October 1st, 2007 at 04:58 PM.
  #20  
Old November 4th, 2007, 02:21 PM
Double_J169 Double_J169 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 28
Wow, I just had this problem in a topic on another board. I'm installing another fan because it keeps overheating and I used Speed Fan to increase my speed. That program works too for anybody with this problem.
  #21  
Old March 4th, 2008, 09:31 PM
umim umim is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: here, there and everywhere
Age: 71
Posts: 105
I downloaded Riva Tuner, there are no help files. Website tutorial show different "windows" after clicking on the same tabs I have......very confusing.
  #22  
Old January 2nd, 2009, 10:28 AM
sean_computerxp sean_computerxp is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: Australia
Posts: 357
unfortunately this doesn't work, as ati tray tools doesn't detect my Graphics card Fan.
Closed Topic

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:27 PM.