Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Hardware > Hardware

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old April 3rd, 2018, 07:49 PM
myersjr myersjr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: SACRAMENTO CA
Posts: 243
Graphic Card suggestions

I have what now would be termed a bit of an older system. I am looking for graphic card suggestions. The onboard stuff is good..but i want just a bit more oomph.

I have an A6-5200 with Radeon Pro onboard. It is HDMI compatible..

Gateway
AMD A6-5200
RADEON (TM)HD (on board)
6 gig RAM
64 Bit OS

Any suggestions??
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old April 4th, 2018, 03:43 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 73
Posts: 17,086
Believe that systems motherboard has the following slots available for graphics:

1) PCIE x1
1) PCIE x16

Therefore I would be looking for a PCIe x16 graphics card. Stock this system came with a 300W power supply, so you need to ensure whatever card you get it can handle the extra load. Also your power supply may not have a Pci 6 pin or 6+2 pin for newer graphic cards.

Something like this should work:
https://www.amazon.com/MSI-GT-710-2G...=1522852843402
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 4th, 2018, 03:50 PM
Digerati Digerati is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 2,394
As Murf suggests, your PSU is going to limit your options significantly. That is not to say it is not worth as you can definitely get a card that will improve performance over your current solution and not exceed the capability of that PSU. But if you want a better card, you MUST ensure you have, or get a PSU to support.

Also, you need to set a budget.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 4th, 2018, 10:55 PM
myersjr myersjr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: SACRAMENTO CA
Posts: 243
Thanks murph. i am definitely considering all options. that card..looks like i could definitely work with it for the cost. a ps..i think i have one that i bought for a previous computer..it was a 500 w. so, i might think about swapping it out. Gateway and Emachines are fairly equal.correct??
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 5th, 2018, 12:08 AM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 73
Posts: 17,086
Most ATX power supplies fit standard Tower cases. Some are proprietary. Also ensure that the 500w has the right cables for the hardware in the tower. Only way to see if it will fit is to hold it up against the one in there now. Generally there are only 4 screws that hold into the case. Just make sure of the cables.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 5th, 2018, 01:36 PM
Digerati Digerati is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 2,394
Quote:
Gateway and Emachines are fairly equal.correct??
They are both subsidiaries of the same parent company, Acer, and use many parts in common.

In terms of being proprietary, the greater problem is the wiring. While more common with earlier Dells, some manufacturers used non-standard wiring for the main 20-pin power connector. I believe since moving to the more common 24-pin power connector, they have all gone with the standard ATX wiring.

This could be determined if you were handy with a multimeter, or if you had access to a PSU Tester. If the supply says ATX on it, it should use standard connector wiring. Then the only concern would be as Murf indicated, having the right connectors.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old December 14th, 2018, 08:49 PM
myersjr myersjr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: SACRAMENTO CA
Posts: 243
Thanks gents. i pop in here every now and again. Such is life. i thank you all for the responses and will weigh all options carefully. BTW..i should have said i had updated the PS a while back to a 500watt. So, it definitely has the power to back it up.

Last edited by myersjr; December 14th, 2018 at 08:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 18th, 2019, 03:51 PM
jasondecos jasondecos is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 1
Nvidia has Fast Sync

Nvidia has Fast Sync.. that's way way more useful than any other sync..

FAST SYNC is the future..

I am currently using https://harddiskdirect.com/01g-p3-14...hics-card.html its helping in with my gaming and crypto mining.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old April 21st, 2019, 01:23 PM
jamesdave jamesdave is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 2
Thanks for sharing the information, I'm also using it to decide which one suits me better.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:54 AM.