Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Software > Gaming

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old August 9th, 2015, 06:05 AM
Meghiddo Meghiddo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Austin , Texas
Age: 36
Posts: 243
Rift MMO crashing after about 5 minutes of being in game

Well Cybertech, seems like every time my subscription lapses I have a new problem I need help with within two weeks - very suspicious Cybertech!! - it has happened twice so far, and I always end up resubscribing thanks to the help I get here, so I am hoping tonight is the same.

I have been playing Rift, and tonight it started crashing on me every 5 minutes or so once I start it up. I was playing the Steam version of Rift for a while, but I kept getting graphical issues every other day that caused me to need to verify the files and redownload. So I switched to the glyph client that the game developer has, and have been using thta for 2 days now. I played for about 6 hours straight today (oh hush, it is my day off) without incident. But in the last couple of hours I have been getting these freezes and crashes.
It often ends up in my entire pc freezing up and I also got a blue screen on one occasion. Sometimes the game will just CTD, so it is not consistent, other than the fact it just started tonight and keeps me from being able to stay on for more than a few minutes.
I have a monitor on some of my GPU statistics, and I do not see any issues like a spike in usage or voltage or anything. I did recently get a new R9 280, so that is why I even bring it up. I have run stress tests to check that it does not crash under pressure. I ran the furmark test for 10 minutes, and also the benchmark test that furmark has.

I have one bad hard drive on my system, but I have been too lazy to open it up. I get a message upon starting my PC that the drive is bad and should be replaced soon. I have cleared everything off of that drive as far as I know, so all of my accessed files should be on one of my good drives as far as I know.
I just disconnected its SATA cable, so that will rule out anything there.

I have McAfee installed and active scan turned on in case that is relevant. I have had some malware issues recently, and I had to do some cleaning with McAfee, Malwarbytes, and ADWCleaner. I have since uninstalled ADWCleaner, and I have disables Malwarebytes as far as I know, but perhaps I should uninstall Malwarebytes altogether to ensure I am not getting a Virus protection conflict?
I also used something called hitmanpro that I have since uninstalled. I am worried about that one looking back, it had some suspicious behaviors. But my malware is gone

I have the log files that should help with troubleshooting from the most recent BSoD. Though I am not seeing a way to attach them (I seem to recall being able to do so in the past?)

So here are the files in a drop box location with the Minidump file and the System Data XML file:
(fyi, I uploaded the original .dmp file, but I also uploaded a version with a .txt extension so that you cna open it straight in your browser instead of needing to download the .dmp file.)
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/kegnnqf4n...Yp6OTK1ta?dl=0

I did a file repair on the game, and it still crashed after that.

...10 minutes later...
In the course of writing up this thread, I was doing a clean install of the game. I got a BSoD, so it seems to not be triggered solely by playing the game. I cannot add that latest dump file either, because I get an access denied message when trying to view or copy the file. The latest file is the exact same size as the other dump file in my dropbox share, but I cannot access the contents at the moment.

So I am not sure if this is enough to help - if not, please instruct me on how I can begin the process of troubleshooting this.

Thanks

Last edited by Meghiddo; August 9th, 2015 at 06:11 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old August 9th, 2015, 06:37 AM
Meghiddo Meghiddo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Austin , Texas
Age: 36
Posts: 243
I have installed the WinDbg tool and downloaded symbols, and updated my system to create a Kernel dump file as well the next time this happens, so hopefully I can have more useful info.
So far I have been re-downloading the game for 25 or so minutes, and no crash thus far. The only difference between the last crash and now is that in that time is when I unplugged my bad hard drive.

I ran WinDbg on the minidump file, here is the brief analysis:

BugCheck 7F, {8, 80050031, 6f8, fffff80003accd01}

Probably caused by : ntkrnlmp.exe ( nt!KiDoubleFaultAbort+b2 )

Followup: MachineOwner


And here is a fuller log:

UNEXPECTED_KERNEL_MODE_TRAP (7f)
This means a trap occurred in kernel mode, and it's a trap of a kind
that the kernel isn't allowed to have/catch (bound trap) or that
is always instant death (double fault). The first number in the
bugcheck params is the number of the trap (8 = double fault, etc)
Consult an Intel x86 family manual to learn more about what these
traps are. Here is a *portion* of those codes:
If kv shows a taskGate
use .tss on the part before the colon, then kv.
Else if kv shows a trapframe
use .trap on that value
Else
.trap on the appropriate frame will show where the trap was taken
(on x86, this will be the ebp that goes with the procedure KiTrap)
Endif
kb will then show the corrected stack.
Arguments:
Arg1: 0000000000000008, EXCEPTION_DOUBLE_FAULT
Arg2: 0000000080050031
Arg3: 00000000000006f8
Arg4: fffff80003accd01

Debugging Details:
------------------


SYSTEM_SKU: To Be Filled By O.E.M.

SYSTEM_VERSION: System Version

BIOS_DATE: 03/08/2011

BASEBOARD_PRODUCT: M4A89TD PRO USB3

BASEBOARD_VERSION: Rev 1.xx

BUGCHECK_P1: 8

BUGCHECK_P2: 80050031

BUGCHECK_P3: 6f8

BUGCHECK_P4: fffff80003accd01

BUGCHECK_STR: 0x7f_8

TRAP_FRAME: 0000000000000000 -- (.trap 0x0)

CPU_COUNT: 6

CPU_MHZ: c8a

CPU_VENDOR: AuthenticAMD

CPU_FAMILY: 10

CPU_MODEL: a

CPU_STEPPING: 0

CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT: 1

DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID: WIN7_DRIVER_FAULT

PROCESS_NAME: rift.exe

CURRENT_IRQL: 0

ANALYSIS_VERSION: 10.0.10240.9 amd64fre

LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER: from fffff80003acce69 to fffff80003acd8c0

STACK_TEXT:
fffff880`0328ed68 fffff800`03acce69 : 00000000`0000007f 00000000`00000008 00000000`80050031 00000000`000006f8 : nt!KeBugCheckEx
fffff880`0328ed70 fffff800`03acb332 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : nt!KiBugCheckDispatch+0x69
fffff880`0328eeb0 00000000`00000000 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : nt!KiDoubleFaultAbort+0xb2


STACK_COMMAND: kb

FOLLOWUP_IP:
nt!KiDoubleFaultAbort+b2
fffff800`03acb332 90 nop

SYMBOL_STACK_INDEX: 2

SYMBOL_NAME: nt!KiDoubleFaultAbort+b2

FOLLOWUP_NAME: MachineOwner

MODULE_NAME: nt

IMAGE_NAME: ntkrnlmp.exe

DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP: 556356e8

IMAGE_VERSION: 6.1.7601.18869

FAILURE_BUCKET_ID: X64_0x7f_8_nt!KiDoubleFaultAbort+b2

BUCKET_ID: X64_0x7f_8_nt!KiDoubleFaultAbort+b2

PRIMARY_PROBLEM_CLASS: X64_0x7f_8_nt!KiDoubleFaultAbort+b2

ANALYSIS_SOURCE: KM

FAILURE_ID_HASH_STRING: km:x64_0x7f_8_nt!kidoublefaultabort+b2

FAILURE_ID_HASH: {0367acc4-9bb4-ab69-5701-46a2011718e9}

Followup: MachineOwner
---------



I see "PROCESS_NAME: rift.exe", but now I am not sure what I can do with this info...

Last edited by Meghiddo; August 9th, 2015 at 06:43 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old August 9th, 2015, 06:47 AM
Meghiddo Meghiddo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Austin , Texas
Age: 36
Posts: 243
edit - deleted

Last edited by Meghiddo; August 9th, 2015 at 07:01 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:30 PM.