Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Software > Internet / Browsers

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old February 6th, 2005, 03:14 PM
degsy's Avatar
degsy degsy is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North-East, UK
Posts: 22,476
Firefox speed tip

Note: This Sticky is a combiniation of merged threads for Firefox Tweaks.




Got this from a user at another board I visit



For those using Firefox on a broadband connection, I just came across the directions below for a couple of speed-enhancing tweaks. I think resetting for pipelining with multiple requests might be a real help for my group searches that go to several websites at once:

Run Firefox? Have broadband? Here's Speed Tips

Here's something for broadband people that will really speed up Firefox:

1.Type "about:config" into the address bar and hit return. Scroll down and look for the following entries:

* network.http.pipelining
* network.http.proxy.pipelining
* network.http.pipelining.maxrequests

Normally the browser will make one request to a web page at a time. When you enable pipelining it will make several at once, which really speeds up page loading.

2. Alter the entries as follows:

* Set "network.http.pipelining" to "true"
* Set "network.http.proxy.pipelining" to "true"
* Set "network.http.pipelining.maxrequests" to some number like 30.

This means it will make 30 requests at once.

3. Lastly right-click anywhere and select New-> Integer. Name it "nglayout.initialpaint.delay" and set its value to "0". This value is the amount of time the browser waits before it acts on information it receives. If you're using a broadband connection you'll load pages MUCH faster now!
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old February 6th, 2005, 04:32 PM
theothershane theothershane is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 180
wow! that works...

I don't suppose you would happen to know if Firefox has a backup facility hidden away somewhere? I'm wanting to do a clean re-install at some point in the future (so I can make a good full-system copy to 'Paragon Drive Backup' for future installs), and it would be handy to be able to save all the settings, plugins and bookmarks somewhere to save a load of time ...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 6th, 2005, 04:41 PM
degsy's Avatar
degsy degsy is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North-East, UK
Posts: 22,476
You can do it manually by backing up the Firefox folder in Program Files and any Profile folder from the users Applications Data folder.


You could try http://mozbackup.jasnapaka.com/index-old.html
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 6th, 2005, 04:41 PM
Miz's Avatar
Miz Miz is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Kansas
Age: 73
Posts: 12,053
theothershane - Try MozBackup.

I haven't used it - yet - but the user reviews are positive.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 6th, 2005, 05:36 PM
hypnotizeminds's Avatar
hypnotizeminds hypnotizeminds is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
O/S: Linux
Location: Flint, MI
Posts: 4,137
Not bad, degs.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old February 6th, 2005, 05:53 PM
zack_rage's Avatar
zack_rage zack_rage is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: neptune
Age: 35
Posts: 782
works great!

you must download this extension first for editing some config on firefox
https://addons.update.mozilla.org/ex...&page=comments

another tweak
Use error pages instead of dialog messagesBy default, Firefox displays annoying error messages if a connection fails, instead of quietly displaying the error information in the browser window as Internet Explorer does. To turn off the error messages and use pages instead, add the following code to your user.js file: copy this
user_pref("browser.xul.error_pages.enabled", true);


cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old February 8th, 2005, 08:43 PM
hypnotizeminds's Avatar
hypnotizeminds hypnotizeminds is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
O/S: Linux
Location: Flint, MI
Posts: 4,137
Firefox tweaks!

Something to take a look at if you use Firefox.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old February 9th, 2005, 10:48 AM
30111987's Avatar
30111987 30111987 is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,390
wow that worked!

just recently got firefox and 1mb broadband.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old February 9th, 2005, 11:25 AM
NealM NealM is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Cheshire. . . England
Posts: 1,454
Nice one Degsy - This really does speed things up.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old February 9th, 2005, 06:22 PM
zack_rage's Avatar
zack_rage zack_rage is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: neptune
Age: 35
Posts: 782
download the extension the i use which is chrome edit
then go to the site that hypnotizeminds link then copy the configurations there are many choices for firefox tweaks then paste it on the user.js tab surely will help for the speed up of firefox!




cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old March 4th, 2005, 12:55 AM
Harpreet Harpreet is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 6
Lightbulb Speed up Firefox

Speed up Firefox, after this tweak you can serf much faster.

How To

1.Type “about:config” into the address bar and hit return. Scroll down and look for the following entries:

network.http.pipelining network.http.proxy.pipelining network.http.pipelining.maxrequests

Normally the browser will make one request to a web page at a time. When you enable pipelining it will make several at once, which really speeds up page loading.

2. Alter the entries as follows:

Set “network.http.pipelining” to “true”

Set “network.http.proxy.pipelining” to “true”

Set “network.http.pipelining.maxrequests” to some number like 30. This means it will make 30 requests at once.

3. Lastly right-click anywhere and select New-> Integer. Name it “nglayout.initialpaint.delay” and set its value to “0”. This value is the amount of time the browser waits before it acts on information it receives.

If you’re using a broadband connection you’ll load pages MUCH faster now!

Note: This only works if you have Firefox installed on your computer.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old March 4th, 2005, 04:16 AM
hypnotizeminds's Avatar
hypnotizeminds hypnotizeminds is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
O/S: Linux
Location: Flint, MI
Posts: 4,137
See here also:
http://www.cybertechhelp.com/forums/...ad.php?t=67576
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old March 6th, 2005, 03:14 AM
keith.evans's Avatar
keith.evans keith.evans is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Anglesey, N. Wales.
Age: 64
Posts: 605
There is a small extension that will perform those pipelining functions for you. Tweak Network. 2 settings with it, default and power user, pretty good.

*Edit Sunday, March 06, 2005 14:09:00* Here are even more options to maximize speed. I forgot I had this book-marked.

Last edited by keith.evans; March 6th, 2005 at 03:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old March 6th, 2005, 09:29 AM
capt k capt k is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
O/S: Windows Vista 64-bit
Location: liverpool, Australia
Age: 54
Posts: 224
Harpreet...

Thanks very much, works wonders
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old April 29th, 2005, 07:44 PM
Sinister-wolf's Avatar
Sinister-wolf Sinister-wolf is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: The Great White North, eh.
Posts: 407
Exclamation Mozilla Firefox Tweaking

OK, i figured there's probably alot of people who are having problems with their FF being slow.. these 8 tweaks will help to make your Fox fly.

(I've used these tweaks for the past 10 weeks and no problems whatso ever)

So lets get started.

Open Firefox and in the address bar type: about:config this will open hidden options.

underneath the address bar there is another bar that you can start typing in the names, and it will shorten the list accordingly.
so.

1. Find browser.tabs.showSingleWindowModePrefs and double click on it so it = true
2. Find network.http.pipelining and double click on it so it = true
3. Find network.http.pipelining.maxrequests set from 4 to 100
4. Find network.http.max-connections and set to 48
5. Find network.http.max-connections-per-server and set to 24
6. Find network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-proxy and set to 12
7. Find network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-server and set to 6
8. Find network.http.proxy.pipelining and double click on it so it = true

after finishing those 8 tweaks, close FF, reopen, and go to any page, it should pretty much Dump the whole page at once. however if the server itself is slow, it will slowdown, but not as slow as before



Goodluck in your tweaking.

Last edited by Sinister-wolf; April 29th, 2005 at 07:45 PM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:42 PM.