Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows XP

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old June 1st, 2016, 01:00 AM
buzbo buzbo is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: Oklahoma, USA
Posts: 29
Ram

I have a Dell Vostro 200 desktop. I want to upgrade/increase my RAM to maximum. Dell says my max is 4GB, while Crucial, after running their scanner, says I can go with 8GB. They say if my BIOS has been updated I am good to go. What says you CTH?

Buzbo
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old June 1st, 2016, 09:38 AM
renegade600's Avatar
renegade600 renegade600 is offline
Certifiable Bum
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
O/S: Linux
Location: Osceola, Ar
Posts: 26,441
dell is right, you are running winxp 32 bit. so the max is 4.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 2nd, 2016, 05:45 PM
Appzalien Appzalien is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 514
Remember, the max of 4 gig for a 32 bit system also includes the memory of any video card you have installed. If you have a video card installed it will subtract from how much of the 4 gig memory sticks can be accessed. So if your card has 1 gig of memory, only 3 gig from the slots will be available. How much memory do you have now and do you have a video card installed?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:30 PM.