Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Software > Gaming

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old October 6th, 2009, 10:41 AM
#ELMO# #ELMO# is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: London
Age: 35
Posts: 382
Gaming RAM/CPU

Hey.

Trying to get some advice here

My current rig is running games very well but some of the newer game I feel could run a bit smoother.

I know my Grpahics card has plently of umph, but I feel my RAM could do with upgrading currently 2gb of DDR2 677mhz my board can support 800mhz so ofc i will go for that, Is there anything in particular aside from ammount of ram and clock speed I should be looking into. I am not intending to Overclock the ram if this makes a diffrence

Also I am wondering if my CPU could do with an update but I have a feeling it doesnt Core 2 Duo E6750 2.66ghz

Thanks in advance

Last edited by #ELMO#; October 6th, 2009 at 10:54 AM. Reason: forgot to add my mobo capacity
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old October 6th, 2009, 08:42 PM
#ELMO# #ELMO# is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: London
Age: 35
Posts: 382
Bump!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 9th, 2009, 12:58 PM
#ELMO# #ELMO# is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: London
Age: 35
Posts: 382
Is there nobody here that can answer this question? =(
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 9th, 2009, 05:32 PM
unclejunebug unclejunebug is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Age: 42
Posts: 380
What new games are you referring to and at what resolutions are you playing them?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 12th, 2009, 09:25 PM
#ELMO# #ELMO# is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: London
Age: 35
Posts: 382
Hey Unclejunebug thanks for the reply

I like to play games at 1440x900 playing Risen and citiesXL but i intend to play new games like starcraft II, Dragon age, borderlands, mass effect 2, star wars the old republic.

Many Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 12th, 2009, 10:48 PM
unclejunebug unclejunebug is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Age: 42
Posts: 380
At that 1440x900 it seems your cpu and RAM are your bottleneck. I would definitely suggest at least upgrading your RAM to 4GB of DDR2 800 which you can get nowadays for a song. That would be your cheapest option and should help.

If it's in the budget I would suggest upgrading to a quad-core cpu as well, either at the same time or down the road. A quad-core cpu with 4GB or RAM and your gpu should be able to play new games for awhile.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 13th, 2009, 09:19 AM
#ELMO# #ELMO# is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: London
Age: 35
Posts: 382
Hey unclejunebug

sorry being dumb here how do you mean bottlenecked...1440x900 is reducing / restricting performance?

Ok ill defo pick-up some RAM, ill look into Quad core aswell...last time i looked at them they just came out and were uber expensive but im sure they droped in price now if even a little =D

Thanks for you advice
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old October 13th, 2009, 04:44 PM
unclejunebug unclejunebug is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Age: 42
Posts: 380
The term bottleneck refers to the component with the least amount of throughput. Your GPU and CPU are capable of pushing more data than your RAM so your overall system performance is somewhat determined by your RAM. Say your GPU and CPU are more like gatorade bottles with pretty wide openings and your RAM is more like a baby bottle. A steady outpour comes from the GPU/CPU but a slow trickle from the RAM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old October 13th, 2009, 05:28 PM
#ELMO# #ELMO# is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: London
Age: 35
Posts: 382
Ahhhh ok makes sense, very good explanation there! =)

Put in htat perspective ill will go order me some RAM! although my HD is clunking about alot tonight! so maybe a new HD will be needed 1st oO

Thanks again for all the help unclejunebug.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old October 13th, 2009, 09:51 PM
unclejunebug unclejunebug is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Age: 42
Posts: 380
Yikes, clunking hard drives are never a good sign. Hope you get it all worked out!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old October 13th, 2009, 10:21 PM
Saber Saber is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: Sedgeberrow>Evesham>Worcestershire>United Kingdom
Posts: 166
Whats your motherboard?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old October 14th, 2009, 12:46 PM
#ELMO# #ELMO# is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: London
Age: 35
Posts: 382
Thanks! Yeah I am backing my pics and stuff up tonight! good chance to get a new bigger/faster HD though i supose =)

hey saber; my mobo is ASUS P5N-E SLI Socket 775

Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old October 22nd, 2009, 09:08 AM
#ELMO# #ELMO# is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: London
Age: 35
Posts: 382
Humm I formated and reinstalled Vista which seems has got rid of the clunking! =D

Also my PC is running alot better Ive been running Crysis at AAx8, very high @ 1440x900 with no probs also the previous games i was playing are running alot smoother @ 1440x900 full everything aswell !? strange but im happy now!

Ill still go ahead and get me 4gb 800mhz and a quad core though, thanks again for the advice

ELMO
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old October 22nd, 2009, 09:07 PM
#ELMO# #ELMO# is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: London
Age: 35
Posts: 382
ok now i feel dumb...i need to run crysis on medium all and x4 aa to get it running smoothly who know what i was thinking earlier!?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:31 AM.