Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Software > Gaming

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old October 10th, 2009, 04:06 PM
Dimension5100 Dimension5100 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: FL
Posts: 101
Question GTA San andreas doesnt recognize

Ive been playing Grand theft auto since liberty City came out and I wanted to reinstall my copy of San Andreas again since it stopped working on my external drive so I installed on my C drive and the first time I played it it was fine and now it comes up saying that it needs Directx9C in order to play, the problem is, I have DirectX9c and I have played San Andreas before and I dont understand why it wont recognize that I have it.. this is a new motherboard and I still was able to play it on this board but why doesnt it see it..

info anyone needs: taken from this post:
http://www.cybertechhelp.com/forums/...d.php?t=125825
1. Grand Theft Auto San Andreas
2. PC
3. dont use
4. just as soon as I install it
5a. XP Pro
5b. 9.0C
5c.Motherboard Make & Model
- Acer, ASE380/AST180/APM8
MORE
Video Card/Chip Make and Model And DRIVER version Number - Nvidia GeForce 8500 GT
Ver. 6.14.0011.8618
CPU Type and Speed- AMD Athalon 64 X2 Dual Core 4800, mmx, 3dnow
RAM details- 3GB RAM
Soundcard/Chip Type -Realtek HD audio output V5.10
I wish I could attatch stuff on here.
http://i493.photobucket.com/albums/r...9_screen01.jpg - shows I have Ver5 Driectx files
http://i493.photobucket.com/albums/r...9_screen03.jpg - shows I have Ver9 Driectx files
http://i493.photobucket.com/albums/r...9_screen06.jpg - System information
http://i493.photobucket.com/albums/r...9_screen07.jpg - Display, Video card
http://i493.photobucket.com/albums/r...9_screen08.jpg - sound card
http://i493.photobucket.com/albums/r...9_screen09.jpg - system information
http://i493.photobucket.com/albums/r...9_screen11.jpg - System reuirements for the game

I just updated my Video Card drivers and have yet to install most of the XP updates, should do the updates and see if that does anything or just wait?

Would like some help with this,
Ethan
sorry if the pictures are pixelated
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old October 14th, 2009, 06:52 PM
Dimension5100 Dimension5100 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: FL
Posts: 101
Thanks for everyones help. I dont need it now, seeing as I have to obliterate the drive because it so screwed up..

Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 15th, 2009, 09:53 PM
Dimension5100 Dimension5100 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: FL
Posts: 101
Question thanks

jrodrick4,
I have a legal copy that I bought from the store, what are you referring to???

I dont need the help anymore, my computer is in such disarray now that I am going to reinstall XP for the third or fourth time on this hard drive.. thanks for anyone who read..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 15th, 2009, 10:06 PM
smurfy's Avatar
smurfy smurfy is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
O/S: Linux
Location: Christchurch New Zealand
Posts: 9,535
jrodrick4's post was removed as it was spamming (and hinting at requesting an illegal copy).

Dimension5100, just as an FYI after you reinstall, try running the DirectX installer from the GTA disc, as there are several different version of DX9 and I seem to remember GTA:SA was very particular about wanting the right one.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 16th, 2009, 09:03 PM
Dimension5100 Dimension5100 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: FL
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfy View Post
jrodrick4's post was removed as it was spamming (and hinting at requesting an illegal copy).

Dimension5100, just as an FYI after you reinstall, try running the DirectX installer from the GTA disc, as there are several different version of DX9 and I seem to remember GTA:SA was very particular about wanting the right one.
I did run the DirectX installer from the disk, I ran the web update, I ran three different months update for the year of 2009 and nothing worked... even after all the installations.. if you look at the pics I posted in the first post, I had DirectX 9 files version 9 and version 5 of the same file, so I dont know what was going on..

All I need is the correct version of Directx 9.0c to be able to install it on my drive so that GTA recognizes it as the correct one and I can play the game..
Ethan
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 22nd, 2009, 09:11 PM
Dimension5100 Dimension5100 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: FL
Posts: 101
just to do a quick update here, I reloaded my windows, reinstalled San andreas on my reg hard drive, not on an external and ran fine with the default everything and recognized the directx9 I had. I install my game mod and run the game, thats when the game will no longer recognize the directx9... I dont know why, I have done it so many times before and the modification itself causes the game to not recognize the directx.... how freaking weird is that???

Vice City runs fine for now, even though its unpredictable about when it glitches on me..

Ethan

consider this thread as dead....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:16 PM.