Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Software > Gaming

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old April 7th, 2006, 09:20 PM
#ELMO# #ELMO# is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: London
Age: 35
Posts: 382
VGA cable

i no these forums r pc help,but i have jus got a xbox 360 but have a really crappy TV jus found out about a VGA cable to plug 360 into ur pc monitor

only thing is i have a laptop jus wondering if i can still plug it in n use my laptop as a monitor???

ELMO
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old April 8th, 2006, 02:19 PM
oracle128's Avatar
oracle128 oracle128 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 9,401
Not unless you buy a USB video capture device, but even then it would most likely have RCA inputs and not VGA (unless you fancy hacking into the laptop monitor cable), which means you'll still get a crappy analog signal. I don't know of any video capture cards with VGA input.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 9th, 2006, 06:08 PM
dohray's Avatar
dohray dohray is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Cardiff, Wales
Age: 56
Posts: 1,469
I know you can connect your PC monitor with this but can't see why it wont work witha laptop.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 9th, 2006, 06:47 PM
oracle128's Avatar
oracle128 oracle128 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 9,401
Quote:
Originally Posted by dohray
I know you can connect your PC monitor with this but can't see why it wont work witha laptop.
Because laptops don't have VGA input like desktop monitors do. Most laptops don't have ANY video input (some may come with S-Video In if you're lucky).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 10th, 2006, 06:38 PM
dohray's Avatar
dohray dohray is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Cardiff, Wales
Age: 56
Posts: 1,469
Aha...thanks for the info' oracle (guess who hasn't got a laptop)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 10th, 2006, 08:56 PM
#ELMO# #ELMO# is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: London
Age: 35
Posts: 382
ok so if i buy a pc monitor can plug it into 360?

if so

cn i use that pc monitor as a tv for Xbox 360 and to watch sky on?

cheers guys
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 10th, 2006, 09:21 PM
#ELMO# #ELMO# is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: London
Age: 35
Posts: 382
ive just read on cnet website that u can convert a flat screen pc monitor into a tv with a box but it doesnt say what this box is,do ne of u guys no what it is or were i can git it from?

Thanx

ELMO
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old April 10th, 2006, 10:54 PM
G_Dem G_Dem is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: London
Age: 38
Posts: 3,219
Quote:
Originally Posted by oracle128
Not unless you buy a USB video capture device, but even then it would most likely have RCA inputs and not VGA (unless you fancy hacking into the laptop monitor cable), which means you'll still get a crappy analog signal. I don't know of any video capture cards with VGA input.
Thats the box you are talking about Elmo. Its a USB video capture device.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old April 10th, 2006, 11:24 PM
#ELMO# #ELMO# is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: London
Age: 35
Posts: 382
so does that still apply if i go out n buy a new pc monitor?not use my laptop?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old April 10th, 2006, 11:42 PM
G_Dem G_Dem is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: London
Age: 38
Posts: 3,219
no because then you can buy the VGA cable for the xbox 360 for 11.99 from amazon.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old April 10th, 2006, 11:45 PM
#ELMO# #ELMO# is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: London
Age: 35
Posts: 382
rite ok i see

wot about watching sky on it is there away i can do this?

cheers 4 the help
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old April 11th, 2006, 06:33 AM
oracle128's Avatar
oracle128 oracle128 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 9,401
If you want to watch TV that's a whole different story - a USB video capture device is only for taking video signals from another device and putting them into your computer. To watch TV, you need a TV tuner, but you'll also need one with integrated video capture to enable you to receive the XBox signal too. USB TV Tuner/Video Capture devices.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old April 11th, 2006, 09:38 AM
#ELMO# #ELMO# is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: London
Age: 35
Posts: 382
o ok scrap that idear then

oracle128 u sed in earlier post about s-video i have the s-video slot but how would i no if was input or outout or does it jus do both?


cheers agen
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old April 11th, 2006, 09:44 AM
G_Dem G_Dem is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: London
Age: 38
Posts: 3,219
Its an output
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old April 11th, 2006, 12:33 PM
#ELMO# #ELMO# is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: London
Age: 35
Posts: 382
o ok thanks guess ill jus have to save up 4 a HDTV then(took me long enough to save up for 360 lol)

as i have jus found out my crappy tv doesnt even support PAL 60 and u need that to play some 360 games
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:07 AM.