Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Software > Gaming

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old October 22nd, 2009, 07:06 PM
wolflmg wolflmg is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Posts: 2,760
Would this laptop run The Sims 3

I'm in the market for a new laptop, I went to Best Buy and the guy I talked to told me that this asus laptop would run the sims 3, just wanted to see what your thoughts are about it. I like it becasue it's in my price range and is a nice looking laptop.

I'm not positive about the graphic card being able to run The Sims 3. This would be the only game I would have on it, but I know that Sims is a pretty high end game, not hardcore like some other games, but still. I just want to be on the safe side before I buy the laptop or the game.

Here are the specs

Asus U50A-RBBML05

Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
4GB of ram
Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor 2.2GHz
500GB hard drive
Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator 4500M
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old October 22nd, 2009, 07:24 PM
JAHGoVeg JAHGoVeg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
O/S: Linux
Posts: 31
im not a computer guru but i am 90% sure it can run that excellently. it has plenty of ram and a great proccessor
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 22nd, 2009, 08:36 PM
smurfy's Avatar
smurfy smurfy is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
O/S: Linux
Location: Christchurch New Zealand
Posts: 9,535
Hi wolfmg, the only concern i would have is the on-board graphics. EA says GMA3 and above are supported so it should work, but i don't know if it will support the highest settings.

3 isn't a great deal better than 2 graphically and I am running 3 just fine on 128MB ATI Radeon 9600Pro at low-medium graphics and on a 1Gig Radeon HD3650 at highest.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 22nd, 2009, 08:41 PM
wolflmg wolflmg is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Posts: 2,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfy View Post
Hi wolfmg, the only concern i would have is the on-board graphics. EA says GMA3 and above are supported so it should work, but i don't know if it will support the highest settings.

3 isn't a great deal better than 2 graphically and I am running 3 just fine on 128MB ATI Radeon 9600Pro at low-medium graphics and on a 1Gig Radeon HD3650 at highest.
Yeah. That's my concern too, I like the price of the laptop and the looks of it, but I'd like it to be able to play the sims 3. I just don't know if the graphic card could handle it, even though the guy a best buy said it could.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:13 PM.