Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows Vista

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old January 5th, 2012, 03:10 PM
wolflmg wolflmg is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Posts: 2,760
Printer issue in windows vista

It was suggested by someone in the hardware thread that I come here as they think it maybe an issue with windows vista.

I wasn't sure whether to put this in printer or networking issue. It's to do with my sisters laptop. All the other computers on the network can print from the printer, but her can't.

I restarted both her laptop and the printer and that didn't work. So I thought I would reinstall the drivers for the printer on her computer. So I removed the printer and went to add printer, but whenever I try to had a networking printer the add printer program hangs/freezes and I have to use task manager to close it.

I'm out of idea about what to do. Her laptop uses windows vista. I have until Saturday to figure this out when she goes back to school. If anyone has any ideas that would be great. If not don't worry about it, she doesn't use the printer too often.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old January 5th, 2012, 09:40 PM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
Try adding a local printer using the Add Printer wizard. Choose "Create a new port" and type the network address. ("\\server_name\printer_name" or "\\server_ip\printer_name")

See here for more troubleshooting steps.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 5th, 2012, 11:09 PM
wolflmg wolflmg is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Posts: 2,760
Thanks. I tried doing it that way, but after I put in the address for the printer it told me it couldn't find it. I know I put it in right, becasue I double checked it on my laptop. I'll take a look at the trouble shooting steps.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 6th, 2012, 02:37 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
Ok, good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 17th, 2012, 02:03 AM
Rnoel Rnoel is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 8
Is this network with a router or a server?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:49 AM.