Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows Vista

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old December 5th, 2008, 10:56 PM
jv40646 jv40646 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Texas
Age: 40
Posts: 82
windows media player

Windows Media Player came installed on the computer and I had been using it fine now when I click on the icon (or even through the start menu) to open the program, nothing happens. What could be causing the program to be unresponsive?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old December 5th, 2008, 11:34 PM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
Hi jv40646. Try this. Close all open programs and open an elevated command prompt. To do this, click on the Start button and type cmd.exe in the Search box. Rightclick on it and choose "Run as Administrator". Copy and paste the below commands after the prompt> and hit enter after each line.

regsvr32 jscript.dll
regsvr32 vbscript.dll

Reboot and let us know if this helped. If you get any error messages after running those commands, please post them in full.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 5th, 2009, 07:27 PM
Pepper2003 Pepper2003 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
O/S: Windows XP Home
Posts: 158
I have a new desktop that also came with WMP 11.

I downloaded Rhapsody since that is what my son uses.

I cannot rip copy the CD with music onto the new computer-both Rhapsody and WMP 11 "not responding".

I uninstalled Rhapsody and this is still happening with WMP 11.

I have Vista 64 bit SP 1.

Should I do what is suggested above?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 6th, 2009, 02:47 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
Hi Pepper2003. No your problem is not the same. Are these music CD's or data CD's? WMP cant rip data CD's. See here for more help.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 6th, 2009, 01:13 PM
Pepper2003 Pepper2003 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
O/S: Windows XP Home
Posts: 158
Music CD's-and Rhapsody can't rip them either.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 6th, 2009, 11:27 PM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
Have a look in Event Viewer and see what Errors (not Information or Warnings) were recorded at the time and date that the problems occurred. Go to Start Search and type:

eventvwr.msc

eventvwr.msc will appear at the top of the Menu. Doubleclick on it and look under Windows Logs. Click on each category e.g. Application etc and look at Errors only. Post back the Event Source, the Event ID and any other relevant information. To do this, doubleclick on the Event, click on the General tab and click on "Copy" and paste the information into a new document (if more than one error) and then post it here.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 7th, 2009, 01:38 PM
Pepper2003 Pepper2003 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
O/S: Windows XP Home
Posts: 158
Well I did this-there must be at least 50 errors....but I clicked on copy and I can't find where they copied to. Do you know where they might be?

I won't send you all of them (when I can find them!) because there are some repeats and it does seem that I can get help online with resolving some.

The Microsoft site offers guidance on some errors but not the ones associated with WMP11 or Rhapsody.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 7th, 2009, 10:58 PM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
Hi Pepper2003. They copy to Clipboard but you wont see anything until you open a document or text file and rightclick inside it and choose Paste. You may have to go back and copy them again if you have copied anything else since then (the clipboard will be overwritten).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old January 8th, 2009, 12:42 PM
Pepper2003 Pepper2003 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
O/S: Windows XP Home
Posts: 158
I have 145 errors!

I was able to rip the disks-but now the cd tray freezes and I have to restart the computer to get it to open.

I won't post all these errors but I think this computer has some issues.

Most of the errors relate to MCSTRM Service, Dock login error, Kerberos software, Windows search and dlbx.device.

Then there are some random other ones.

Where do I find clipboard? Is it Microsoft Clip Organizer?

I have had this computer for a week.

Last edited by Pepper2003; January 8th, 2009 at 12:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old January 9th, 2009, 04:41 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
Once you have copied the information, all you have to do is rightclick inside the Reply Box here and choose "Paste"

If that many errors are logged and your computer is freezing, I honestly think you should take advantage of your Warranty. Call whoever you purchased it from and arrange for a Tech to look at it.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old January 10th, 2009, 01:11 PM
Pepper2003 Pepper2003 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
O/S: Windows XP Home
Posts: 158
I am doing just that.....the CD freezing pushed me over the edge!

I also received an email today from Costco saying they apologize but the computer was configured wrong-it doesn't have an internal media reader so they are going to ship me an external USB one at no cost to me! I am so glad they are going to ship me something they forgot to add and not charge me-plus it's not what I wanted.

I fired off emails to Dell and Costco saying no thanks-ship me the internal one I thought I was getting and have a tech come and install it along with the new cover and optical drive they are already sending....sorry for the mini rant but this thing is driving me nuts!

Thanks for your help but I agree at this point they've got to look at this and figure it out-or else it's going back.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old January 10th, 2009, 09:34 PM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
Hi Pepper2003. You are welcome for my input. Dont be sorry, I can understand your frustration and disappointment. I hope everything is sorted out to your satisfaction.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old January 25th, 2009, 01:12 AM
Pepper2003 Pepper2003 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
O/S: Windows XP Home
Posts: 158
Well I thought I would update you......I am waiting to have the computer picked up and returned-Dell said after I ran diagnostics and gave them the error codes it wasn't worth fixing and they wouldn't swap out the box-the monitor and speakers were fine-and Costco had to take the whole thing back since it was bought in a bundle.

What an ordeal it was to deal with Dell-Costco is fine but they are very slow in the return area.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old January 25th, 2009, 05:47 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
It's a pity that this had to happen but at least they are honouring the warranty and you will get a new system. Thanks for the update Pepper2003 and I am glad the problem will be resolved very soon.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:55 AM.