Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Older Windows Versions > Windows 98

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old June 22nd, 2004, 02:03 PM
hectorbun hectorbun is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Suffolk, UK
Posts: 5
Question Active X, plug-ins @ IE

A friend re-installed Windows 98 SE for me recently as it had become very unstable. Since it has been re-installed I have had the following problem:
When going through pages on the internet a box comes up with 'Internet Explorer' at the top and it says:

'Do you want to allow software such as ActiveX controls and plug-ins to run?'

If I click on 'No' the page doesn't always display correctly.
If I click on 'Yes' I often (but not always) get the following box come up

'Microsoft Internet Explorer has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for any inconvenience.'
There is also a check box to re-start IE and also the option to send an error report to Microsoft.

Hope you can help. Thanks.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old June 22nd, 2004, 02:35 PM
degsy's Avatar
degsy degsy is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North-East, UK
Posts: 22,476
Welcome

Goto Internet Options>Tools>Security
set the security to medium, which is the default.

Also, upgrade to IE6 SP1 via Windows Update.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 22nd, 2004, 03:26 PM
hectorbun hectorbun is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Suffolk, UK
Posts: 5
Active X, plug ins, IE

Thanks for the quick reply. Have tried what you suggested, and re-started the PC, but the problems remain. Already had IE6 SP1. No crititical updates outstanding. Only other updates are as follows:
Media player 9
Net Framework 1.1
Euro Conversion tool
IDE Hard drive cache package
Mapped drive shutdown update
Games & Multi language features
Plus
Drivers - SIS Display software - when I try to install this I get an error message telling me that Windows is unable to back up the current driver file C:\\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SiSInst.dll - could this be the problem? Don't want to inadvertantly cause more problems!

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 22nd, 2004, 03:38 PM
degsy's Avatar
degsy degsy is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North-East, UK
Posts: 22,476
When you get the ActiveX prompt and you click Yes and ge the error, what is the exact error and is there any more info (a more info link or button?)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 22nd, 2004, 07:32 PM
hectorbun hectorbun is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Suffolk, UK
Posts: 5
Hello again

The exact message box is as follows:

Microsoft internet explorer has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience.

If you were in the middle of something, the information you were working on might be lost.

Check box - Restart Microsoft Internet Explorer

Please tell Microsoft about this problem.
We have created an error report that you can send to help improve Microsoft Internet Explorer. We will treat this report as confidential and anonymous.
To see what data this error report contains click here

Buttons - Send Error Report
Dont send Error Report

The 'Error Signature' box comes up when I click on 'click here'
The information at the top of the box is as follows:
AppName:iexplore.exe
AppVer:6.0.2800.1106
ModName:msvcrt.dll
ModVer:6.1.8293.0
Offset:000154a7

To view technical information click here

When I click on this there is loads of information. It starts with

Exception Information
Code:Oxc 0000005
Flags: Ox00000000
Record:Ox000......
Address:Ox000....0780154a7

Then ..
56 modules of information
11 threads of information
13 Memory range

Is any of this shedding light on the problem?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 22nd, 2004, 08:01 PM
degsy's Avatar
degsy degsy is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North-East, UK
Posts: 22,476
having looked around it may be a spyware problem.

Run an Antivirus scan and also spyware scans.

Read this
http://www.cybertechhelp.com/forums/...ad.php?t=37546


Is your homepage setting ok?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old June 22nd, 2004, 08:04 PM
degsy's Avatar
degsy degsy is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North-East, UK
Posts: 22,476
You may also solve the problem by renaming the old file then downloading and replacing it with this
http://www.dll-files.com/dllindex/dl...s.shtml?msvcrt
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old June 23rd, 2004, 06:35 PM
hectorbun hectorbun is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Suffolk, UK
Posts: 5
Have had a quick look at your suggestions - will follow in more detail when I have time tomorrow - thank you. Am already running ad-aware and AVG anti-virus and zone alarm. Home page is BBC site - no problems with this until I try to 'listen again' on the radio sites.

Thanks for your time on this. My husband's suggestion to solve this problem has been to buy a new PC - which seems a bit extream at the moment - although it is a frustrating problem.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old June 23rd, 2004, 06:51 PM
degsy's Avatar
degsy degsy is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North-East, UK
Posts: 22,476
nice way to solve the problem
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old July 10th, 2004, 08:34 PM
hectorbun hectorbun is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Suffolk, UK
Posts: 5
Red face

Good evening

Sorry for the delay in getting back to you - have been away - and the instructions for AAW looked worse than there were when I actually got down to following them.
Have run AAW and then Hijack This. The log is as follows:

Logfile of HijackThis v1.98.0
Scan saved at 20:20:52, on 10/07/04
Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGSERV9.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\VSMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KHOOKER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\RUNDLL32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\AGRSMMSG.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGCC32.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\REAL\UPDATE_OB\REALSCHED.EXE
D:\DOWNLOAD\AD-AWARE 6\AD-AWARE.EXE
D:\PROGRAM FILES\ZONE LABS\ZONEALARM\ZLCLIENT.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\MICROSOFT SHARED\WORKS SHARED\WKCALREM.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINZIP\WINZIP32.EXE
C:\UNZIPPED\HIJACKTHIS\HIJACKTHIS.EXE
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.bbc.co.uk/
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 6.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.DLL
O2 - BHO: Google Toolbar Helper - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - D:\DOWNLOAD\SPYBOT~1\SDHELPER.DLL
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe

Anyone any the wiser?
Did try dowloading the .dll file as suggested but the problem remains.

Thanks for your time on this - especially as Windows 98 isn't exactly 'cuttting edge' any more (if it ever was!)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:18 PM.