Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Hardware > Hardware

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #16  
Old June 16th, 2018, 08:00 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 73
Posts: 16,962
Great good seller than. I think it was defective.
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old June 21st, 2018, 09:55 PM
littlebadboy littlebadboy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Posts: 223
Update:

I have already installed the I5-560M processor and it is working! I am still waiting for the 8 gig RAM. USPS tracking says it is in my mailbox, but it is not. I hope it is not lost.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old June 22nd, 2018, 01:01 AM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 73
Posts: 16,962
oopsI have had that delivered to wrong address, if it was hope they are honest and returns to post office. I would go to PO with the tracking number and find out. Almost impossible to talk to a human.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old June 22nd, 2018, 10:11 PM
littlebadboy littlebadboy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Posts: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murf View Post
oopsI have had that delivered to wrong address, if it was hope they are honest and returns to post office. I would go to PO with the tracking number and find out. Almost impossible to talk to a human.
As per your advise, I went to my PO, about a 20 minute drive. They said if my tracking says it is in my mailbox, then it should be there. If its not there, there's nothing that they can do.

I guess I have to say bye to my $40. What a waste...
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old June 22nd, 2018, 11:56 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 73
Posts: 16,962
NO it should be insured, contact the seller and tell him to file a claim.


You may be able to file the claim


https://www.usps.com/help/claims.htm
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old Yesterday, 01:46 PM
littlebadboy littlebadboy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Posts: 223
Thanks for the advice. I will do that.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old Yesterday, 03:44 PM
littlebadboy littlebadboy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Posts: 223
A good neighbor found and returned my package. I already isntalled the RAM and everything is good!

Thank you so much everyone! Dad would have been proud!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old Yesterday, 04:16 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 73
Posts: 16,962
Great neighbor, glad you got it all sorted out and she is up and running.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old Yesterday, 04:28 PM
littlebadboy littlebadboy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Posts: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murf View Post
Great neighbor, glad you got it all sorted out and she is up and running.
Yes, I wish the neighbor left a name for me to thank!

Yes, laptop is up and running! And I feel sentimental. This used to be my Dad's who is gone, and I am using the very same laptop that he used to work on...

Some weird things though... I see that it originally had Win7 but has now upgraded to Win10. Above the "2" key is """ but if you press on it the "@" sign actually comes up. On the "'" it's the reverse. It could get confusing... is ther a way I could fix it? Or, maybe I should just sharpie the dang thing.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old Yesterday, 11:24 PM
Ensign Tzap Ensign Tzap is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Posts: 729
Cool , nice too see your keeping that Laptop going.

I hope you used a good quality thermal paste when you put in the new Processor?
Reason being, the Higher Speed Processor will generate more heat.
Also, make sure the Fan & Vents are clear of dust.
Quote:
Some weird things though... I see that it originally had Win7 but has now upgraded to Win10. Above the "2" key is """ but if you press on it the "@" sign actually comes up. On the "'" it's the reverse. It could get confusing... is ther a way I could fix it? Or, maybe I should just sharpie the dang thing.
Sounds like Keyboard settings in Windows 10 are set for the Standard English 104-Keyboard.

Go into the Control Panel > Hardware and Sound > Device Manager > Keyboards

Under the Keyboards there will be a listing of the type of Keyboard.

You'll probably see "Standard PS/2 Keyboard" as your Keyboard.
If it is, Right Click on it and scroll down to Properties and Click on it.
Window Opens and Click on the Driver Tab.

There will be several options.
Driver Details
Update Driver
Uninstall Driver

If your going to try Update Driver.
First check if Acer has Windows 10 Drivers for your Laptop, before you try doing it.

You could also try using the old Windows 7 Drivers that were made for the Laptop.
You should have an installation disk, or go down load them from Acer support.

Good Luck with it.


Signed: Ensign Tzap
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:03 PM.