Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows Vista

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old September 25th, 2010, 06:10 AM
telanor's Avatar
telanor telanor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Posts: 87
Open File Location doesn't work

For some reason the "Open File Location" command on shortcuts has stopped working for me. When I click it, nothing happens. No window opens, no error shows up, nothing. I tried running sfc /scannow but that didn't help. How can I fix this? I'm running windows vista business x64 sp2.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old September 25th, 2010, 02:43 PM
Mosaic1 Mosaic1 is offline
Malware Removal Team Advisor
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 4,783
First let's have a look to see if that shell menu handler is registered properly.

Copy the contents of the code box to notepad.
Nane the file link.bat
Save as Type: All files
Code:
echo Querying  HKCR\CLSID\{37ea3a21-7493-4208-a011-7f9ea79ce9f5} >results.txt

reg query HKCR\CLSID\{37ea3a21-7493-4208-a011-7f9ea79ce9f5} /s >>results.txt 2>&1
echo.>>results.txt
echo Querying HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\lnkfile\shellex\ContextMenuHandlers\OpenContainingFolderMenu >>results.txt
reg query HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\lnkfile\shellex\ContextMenuHandlers\OpenContainingFolderMenu /s >>results.txt 2>&1

Start results.txt
exit
Double click on link.bat to run it.

When finished, a file named results.txt will open. Post the contents of results.txt into your next reply here,please.

We'll take it from there.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 25th, 2010, 07:19 PM
telanor's Avatar
telanor telanor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Posts: 87
Here are the contents of results.txt:

Querying HKCR\CLSID\{37ea3a21-7493-4208-a011-7f9ea79ce9f5}

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{37ea3a21-7493-4208-a011-7f9ea79ce9f5}
(Default) REG_SZ Open Containing Folder Menu

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{37ea3a21-7493-4208-a011-7f9ea79ce9f5}\InProcServer32
(Default) REG_EXPAND_SZ %SystemRoot%\system32\shell32.dll
ThreadingModel REG_SZ Apartment


Querying HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\lnkfile\shellex\ContextMenuHandl ers\OpenContainingFolderMenu

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\lnkfile\shellex\ContextMenuHandl ers\OpenContainingFolderMenu
(Default) REG_SZ {37ea3a21-7493-4208-a011-7f9ea79ce9f5}
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 25th, 2010, 10:06 PM
Mosaic1 Mosaic1 is offline
Malware Removal Team Advisor
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 4,783
Those entries are correct. Let's have a look at one more place:
Copy the contents of the code box to notepad.
Name the file WOWlink.bat
Save as Type: All files


Code:
reg query  HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Wow6432Node\CLSID\{37ea3a21-7493-4208-a011-7f9ea79ce9f5 /s} >WOWresults.txt 2>&1
Start WOWresults.txt
exit
Double click on WOWlink.bat to run it.


When finished, a file named WOWresults.txt will open. Post the contents of WOWresults.txt into your next reply here,please.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 25th, 2010, 10:08 PM
telanor's Avatar
telanor telanor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Posts: 87
I assume you meant to put the /s after the }, since it gave me an error otherwise. Heres the output


HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Wow6432Node\CLSID\{37ea3a21-7493-4208-a011-7f9ea79ce9f5}
(Default) REG_SZ Open Containing Folder Menu

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Wow6432Node\CLSID\{37ea3a21-7493-4208-a011-7f9ea79ce9f5}\InProcServer32
(Default) REG_EXPAND_SZ %SystemRoot%\system32\shell32.dll
ThreadingModel REG_SZ Apartment
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 25th, 2010, 10:23 PM
Mosaic1 Mosaic1 is offline
Malware Removal Team Advisor
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 4,783
Does this happen only on desktop shortcuts?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 25th, 2010, 10:26 PM
telanor's Avatar
telanor telanor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Posts: 87
It happens to anything that is a shortcut, regardless of where it is. Basically anything that has "Open File Location" doesn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old September 26th, 2010, 04:25 AM
Mosaic1 Mosaic1 is offline
Malware Removal Team Advisor
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 4,783
Thanks for catching the typo. Yes. You fixed it correctly. I have Windows7 64 bit. I tried to reproduce your situation here and couldn't. You have another option. There is a way to add a menu option to do the same thing as the Shell Extenson which isn't working. Or I can continue to try tacking down the problem.

Here's a link to a page with the instructions if you want to use this alternative. I used to use it myself when I ran XP and it worked. The only issue might be if you had a security program which used script blocking , or had the file assocation changed so that scripts would open in Notepad.

http://www.winhelponline.com/blog/ad...-in-windows-xp
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old September 26th, 2010, 04:31 AM
Mosaic1 Mosaic1 is offline
Malware Removal Team Advisor
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 4,783
I just ran across a post where the person had exactly the same problem as yours. He had installed Internet Explorer Beta. Uninstalling that fixed the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old September 26th, 2010, 05:00 AM
telanor's Avatar
telanor telanor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Posts: 87
Interesting. I just installed IE9 beta. I'll go uninstall it and see if this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old September 26th, 2010, 05:24 AM
Mosaic1 Mosaic1 is offline
Malware Removal Team Advisor
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 4,783
Thanks. I will be very interested to hear how that goes. We'll be getting a lot of posts about this issue once more people install it.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old September 26th, 2010, 05:25 AM
telanor's Avatar
telanor telanor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Posts: 87
Uninstalled and its working again. I would never have thought IE9 was the cause. Thanks for finding that out.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old September 26th, 2010, 06:15 AM
Mosaic1 Mosaic1 is offline
Malware Removal Team Advisor
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 4,783
You're welcome. Everything else is running ok? I'm nolt sure ,but you may now need to visit Windows Update,check your history and reinstall any Internet Explorer Security Updates.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old September 26th, 2010, 06:36 AM
telanor's Avatar
telanor telanor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Posts: 87
That's alright, I don't use IE anyway, I only installed the beta to check it out.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old September 26th, 2010, 06:39 AM
Mosaic1 Mosaic1 is offline
Malware Removal Team Advisor
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 4,783
Even so, important system files and settings are often changed by these IE security patches.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:15 AM.