Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows 10

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old March 29th, 2018, 10:43 AM
lcyber lcyber is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: uk
Posts: 1,412
procedure for upgrading from small ssd to larger one

Is it straightforward to swap current small ssd for a larger one.What is the procedure,I don,t want to get out of my depth here.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old March 29th, 2018, 05:44 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 73
Posts: 17,087
Most SSD's come with software that will clone your existing drive. Samsung has great software with their SSD's.

If not then read this:
https://www.easeus.com/backup-recove...arger-ssd.html

Shop around but here is one example:

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...-167-_-Product
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 30th, 2018, 11:23 AM
lcyber lcyber is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: uk
Posts: 1,412
I have a problem in that my disc needs an extra 6gb to accomodate latest security patches ,this makes me think there would be no room for the cloned data to go to .Am I right in thinking this.I have an external drive with spare space would that be of use.

Last edited by lcyber; March 30th, 2018 at 05:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 30th, 2018, 08:29 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 73
Posts: 17,087
You clone one drive to another, not on the same drive.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 1st, 2018, 10:41 AM
lcyber lcyber is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: uk
Posts: 1,412
So I can clone my drive to a removable drive yes?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 2nd, 2018, 12:04 AM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 73
Posts: 17,087
Yes.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 3rd, 2018, 07:49 PM
lcyber lcyber is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: uk
Posts: 1,412
Can I then tansfer the o/s to another pc from rhis removable drive?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old April 6th, 2018, 02:55 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 73
Posts: 17,087
Probably NOT depends. Windows 10 activation is tied to the motherboard, processor, drive. If you put it into a different PC it may not activate.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old April 11th, 2018, 02:14 PM
lcyber lcyber is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: uk
Posts: 1,412
Easeus doesn't seem to be free ,it refers to a 30 day free trial,no indicaion as to what happens after that period .Is there a means of cloning that is actually free ,it's one thing to have a free download but not free after i'ts been downloaded.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old April 11th, 2018, 04:34 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 73
Posts: 17,087
https://www.easeus.com/backup-software/tb-free.html
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old April 11th, 2018, 07:06 PM
lcyber lcyber is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: uk
Posts: 1,412
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murf View Post
Probably NOT depends. Windows 10 activation is tied to the motherboard, processor, drive. If you put it into a different PC it may not activate.
I have just got a larger ssd drive but not sure of the sequence of cloning etc.Do I get a cloning app ,clone my existing small drive to it ,then remove my small ssd and replace it with the larger one and then move the cloned information over to it?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old April 11th, 2018, 08:04 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 73
Posts: 17,087
Which drive did you get Make and Model?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old April 11th, 2018, 10:33 PM
lcyber lcyber is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: uk
Posts: 1,412
I got a WD GREN SATA SSD 2.5" Sold state drive120gb
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old April 11th, 2018, 11:14 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 73
Posts: 17,087
WD has available software for cloning they have the Acronis True Image WD Edition
https://support.wdc.com/product.aspx...n#WD_downloads

Download and run it.

You need at least one WD hard drive attached in your system to be able to install and run the product.
The installation procedure is straightforward.

  1. Download the .zip file that includes both the executable file as well as the User Guide.
  2. Extract the .exe file and the User Guide.
  3. Run the executable file and follow the on-screen instructions.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:07 PM.