Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows XP

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old April 4th, 2013, 04:05 PM
luzchurch luzchurch is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 333
My pc has quit working

Here is what happens when I start the machine:
The screen with the XP logo appears
Then I get a quick blue screen with some text which I cannot read because it disappears too fast.
It moves on to the page that shows F2 bios set up/F10 for other options.
The next page is where I am asked to select: start windows normally, safe mode, safe made with networking, start with a known configuration etc. Regardless of what option I choose the pc goes back to the XP logo page and the sequence repeats all over.
Thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old April 4th, 2013, 07:31 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 73
Posts: 17,064
1st try getting into BIOS SETUP, 1st screen tells you what key to hit. Once it find where you can set it to DEFAULTS, Save and Exit.

If that doesn't work, reboot and immediately tap "F8" key to bring the menu up. Now try Safe Mode and see what happens.

If not do you have a XP CD/DVD?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 4th, 2013, 07:42 PM
luzchurch luzchurch is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 333
I did reset the defaults, tried all the options, including the safe mode, without success. I do have the CD but I was told (but not sure) that if I use it, all the data will be erased from the HD. My PC is an emachine model # EL 1200.
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 4th, 2013, 09:50 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 73
Posts: 17,064
The only way you will lose data is if you tell it to reinstall Windows. Boot from the CD, if it doesn't then you need to set the boot order in your SETUP to Cdrom as the first device then save and exit.

Once it boots from the CD, it will load some files then you will get a screen asking what you want to do select "R" to repair a Windows XP Installation.

If asked for password just hit <enter>

Now at the flashing cursor type the following:

fixmbr (hit<enter>)

Type "Y" and then hit <enter>

Type exit

Reboot

If that does not fix it then you will need to do a repair install. A repair install will save all your data, however, you would need to run updates again.

HERE is an excellent Step-By-Step to do it. Scroll down to XP Repair install.

Read carefully and make not of item #3

Follow this and it should fix the computer. All your programs, documents etc will remain in tact, you will have to run Windows update again.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 4th, 2013, 10:54 PM
luzchurch luzchurch is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 333
Sorry Murf. I thought I had the recovery CDs but they are for the laptop which also has XP. The emachine did not come with any discs. Now what do I do?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 4th, 2013, 11:57 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 73
Posts: 17,064
You can use that disc to try and fix the Master Boot Record, but won't be able to do a repair install. Try at least that.

XP will be on what is called a "Recovery Partition" which is accessed at boot usually a "F" key, 1st screen will tell you. BUT that would restore it to factory defaults and you would lose all your data. So lets see if fixing the boot record helps.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 5th, 2013, 12:54 PM
luzchurch luzchurch is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 333
When I tried it, it took me to a screen that said recovery will erase all data on drive C. So I cancelled the operation.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old April 5th, 2013, 07:15 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 73
Posts: 17,064
Did you try the fixmbr? If that didn't work then get back to the same screen and type the following:

fixboot C: (hit <enter>)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old April 10th, 2013, 03:02 PM
luzchurch luzchurch is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 333
message deleted. Thanks.

Last edited by luzchurch; April 10th, 2013 at 03:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old April 12th, 2013, 03:36 PM
luzchurch luzchurch is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 333
Thanks for all your efforts to help me. I found out that the hd was defective. A technician managed to retrieve some data from it and reloaded the XP OS after replacing the drive. I am slowly reloading all the program files that were lost.
Now when I access any folder it shows the icons. I am used to the details option. How do I convert all of my folder/files to show details with one command? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old April 12th, 2013, 05:00 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 73
Posts: 17,064
1. Open My Documents

2. Double click the folder that contains the files you want to view

3. On the View menu, click either Filmstrip, Thumbnails, Titles, Icons, List or Details


To make them all the same;

1. Open a folder and select Folder View

2. On the Tools menu click Folder Options

3. On the View Tab, click Apply to all Folders
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old April 13th, 2013, 12:44 PM
luzchurch luzchurch is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 333
Thanks very much.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old April 14th, 2013, 04:29 PM
luzchurch luzchurch is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 333
I have one more problem. Before my hd crash, my zipped attachment downloads used to be extracted as a word files with the doc extension.
Now these downloads are being saved with docx extensions and I am unable to open them. I have not installed any program that I did not have before.
What could I do solve this? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old April 14th, 2013, 05:47 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 73
Posts: 17,064
The difference between *.doc and *.docx is the version of Office, MS does have a converter.

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downl...ails.aspx?id=3
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old April 15th, 2013, 06:03 PM
Lawrencely's Avatar
Lawrencely Lawrencely is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murf View Post
The difference between *.doc and *.docx is the version of Office, MS does have a converter.

http://www.ifakeraybanssaleus.com/ra...sses-c-10.html

pm reply sent sorry i didnt know i had a message lol
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:29 AM.