Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Hardware > Networking

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old May 27th, 2008, 06:09 PM
zukester zukester is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
Cool Vista Printer Drivers: Networked printer will not print

Hi:

We have a brand new Canon ImageRunner 1023If which will not print in Vista. The error code is NG(#0853)

NG stands for simply "No Good", which is only accessible in the error log from an internet browser.

I searched high and low searched on Canon's site, Google, Microsoft, etc. by typing 853, 0853. error #0853, Canon error NG(#0853), etc.

Nothing.

I have gone to the Canon USA site and downloaded all 64 bit drivers, all 5 and 6cl version drivers, everything I know to do. I am an old network MCSE guy so I know a little, but this is just too weird.

1. Can talk to, locate and ping the printer by IP
2. Can browse to the printer to add it.
3. Can bring up properties sheet in internet browser through the IP address (where I got error code from)
4. I can send jobs to the printer
5. Jobs go to printer, light blinks, job disappears from screen
6. No errors on the printer, in Windows, just in the error log.

Is this printer just completely incompatible for Vista?

Thanks So Much,

Zukester
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old May 27th, 2008, 08:06 PM
Murray S.'s Avatar
Murray S. Murray S. is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2004
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Age: 63
Posts: 13,547
Howdy and welcome to CTH:

Why the 64bit drivers? Unless you are using 64bit operating systems, they may not work.

Have you tried THESE DRIVERS ?

Murray
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 2nd, 2008, 03:17 PM
zukester zukester is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
Smile Vista Printer Drivers

Sorry I took so long to reply, not been here in a week.

OK. I tried the 32 bits, all of them. Nothing doing. I tried the 64 bit ones also because, at various times when installing other programs, I got a warning saying that "This software is not 64 bit and therefore not compatible with this version of Windows." So I assumed this Vista was 64 bit.

In any case, any driver so far, 64 bit OR 32 bit has not worked, including the one listed. In fact, it said just now when I went to install it that it was not the driver for this printer.

Either the drivers do not install or they install and do not print, no errors. I have total communication TCP/IP with the printer, as evidenced by the property sheet.

I do thank you for trying. You were more helpful than the vendor who sold us the printer!! If you have any ideas what is wrong and how to fix it, let me know.

Nearly bald already.

Regards,
Zukester
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 2nd, 2008, 04:25 PM
Murray S.'s Avatar
Murray S. Murray S. is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2004
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Age: 63
Posts: 13,547
Is this a networked printer?

Murray
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 2nd, 2008, 05:14 PM
zukester zukester is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
It is a networked printer.

No error messages on printer or in Windows.

I can ping it, port is TCP/IP, and it is added by IP address. I can enter the configuration section via Internet Explorer by IP address.

All properties sheets are "Paper", correct drawer, "Print to Printer", "do not spool", no holds barred.

Lights flash indicating activity on all Test Prints and print jobs, jobs go to printer and then disappear, but that is all that happens.

Nothing in any error logs, anywhere.

I SUSPECTED Comodo Firewall, but shut that down also. Windows Firewall also. All other network activity is completely functional, wirelessly.

Regards,
Zukester
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 2nd, 2008, 05:15 PM
zukester zukester is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
It is a networked printer.

No error messages on printer or in Windows.

I can ping it, port is TCP/IP, and it is added by IP address. I can enter the configuration section via Internet Explorer by IP address.

All properties sheets are "Paper", correct drawer, "Print to Printer", "do not spool", no holds barred.

Lights flash indicating activity on all Test Prints and print jobs, jobs go to printer and then disappear, but that is all that happens.

Nothing in any error logs, anywhere.

I SUSPECTED Comodo Firewall, but shut that down also. Windows Firewall also. All other network activity is completely functional, wirelessly.

Regards,
Zukester
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old June 2nd, 2008, 05:19 PM
Murray S.'s Avatar
Murray S. Murray S. is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2004
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Age: 63
Posts: 13,547
Okay.. I am going to move this to the Networking Forum for the guru's there to look at.

Murray
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old June 2nd, 2008, 05:32 PM
zukester zukester is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
Vista Printer Drivers

Thank you. Now that narrows it down to a network issue, which helps.

Thanks Again.

Zukester
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old March 17th, 2009, 10:53 AM
kyrozen kyrozen is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1
Anyone have an issue for this case ? I have the same problem on a Canon iR1022F on a Windows 2003 Server
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old March 22nd, 2010, 11:32 AM
rochdiboudjehem rochdiboudjehem is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
try the new driver 30-11-2009 :
http://fr.software.canon-europe.com/...re/0037064.asp
it works fine for me, Canon IR2018, windows 7 X64,
You must add a new network printer "MANUALLY", type ip address, when asked for Driver browse to driver location, choose your model, and it's ok
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:51 PM.