Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Hardware > Hardware

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old July 19th, 2008, 07:58 PM
Lozot Lozot is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
status of printer job is "error printing" -help!

I have a Canon MP730 printer/scanner/copier. The operating system is windows XP professional.
The printer is switched on and the cable connected.

The status of the printer itself in the 'printers and faxes window' is "ready".
(There is another printer listed whose status is 'deleting')

The status of the first print job under 'see whats printing' is "error printing" and in the port column is USB002.

A second print job had nothing in the status column and nothing in the port column until I deleted the first print job.
The second job moves up to first place with "printing" in the status column but which after a few seconds returns to "error printing" (port USB002)

I have been thorough 'trouble shooting' but did not try to print form DOS as the printer is not designed to print from DOS.

The printer is not connected though a hub but directly to ports on the computer. I have interchanged the printer cable with the bluetooth dongle (which successfully connnects with my mobile phone )- so I know both USB ports at the front of the computer work.

I have tried uninstalling the driver software and re-installaing it from the CD.
Is there any thing else I can try? Is there anything to be diagnosed via the device manger?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old July 20th, 2008, 03:17 AM
liondad's Avatar
liondad liondad is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: SURREY /UK
Age: 73
Posts: 2,052
Open control panel.
click on printers icon,
find your printer,
is the printer set to be your default printer,
if not,
Right click on your printer icon,
look down the list and set it to default printer,
the other printers are virtual printers,
Relate to ms office setup,
and can be link via the default printer,
so if you have the WRONG printer as default,
your printing job is being send to a virtual printer,
and put up printing errors
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 20th, 2008, 10:51 AM
Lozot Lozot is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
The MP730 was the default printer- and since successfully deleting the other printer this is now the only printer listed (and it is still ticked as the default one!)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 20th, 2008, 02:46 PM
liondad's Avatar
liondad liondad is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: SURREY /UK
Age: 73
Posts: 2,052
Now turn of the printer remove the usb cable and remove the mains plug,
and leave the printer for awhile, [1 hour]
and let the printer go cold,
this sould clear any residue info left in its ram
from the last print jobs,
time up replace usb and main plugs and start up,
and print a test page,
if you still get your errors,
Could be you have a double set of drivers loaded for the same printer,
And need to clear both sets of drivers and programs,
and install the printer again,
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 22nd, 2008, 03:57 PM
Lozot Lozot is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks for help. I tried the routine suggested. Still no luck. I abandoned the two accessible USB ports at he front of the m/c and overcoming my laziness, got around (literally) to trying a vacant port at the back. That worked!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old July 22nd, 2008, 10:04 PM
liondad's Avatar
liondad liondad is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: SURREY /UK
Age: 73
Posts: 2,052
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lozot View Post
Thanks for help. I tried the routine suggested. Still no luck. I abandoned the two accessible USB ports at he front of the m/c and overcoming my laziness, got around (literally) to trying a vacant port at the back. That worked!
Thanks for the info,
I never tryed a printer in the front usb ports,
In the older mobos,
The front usb ports would only run in usb 1.1 mode,
When you updated to win xp sp2 to load the usb 2 drivers,
Only the back ports would run in usb 2
and alot of the USB printers needed usb 2 mode,
So I have never pluged in to the front ports,
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:03 PM.