Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows XP

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old November 24th, 2004, 03:31 AM
boo88 boo88 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Exclamation "The RPC server is unavailable"

Post SP2, I have been unable to install new programs. I'm on a new system, and minutes ago attempted to install the CD/DVD burning software. Upon clicking Install, I see this message:

"The InstallShield Engine (iKernel.exe) could not be launched.

The RPC server is unavailable."

The installation then quits. I did some Google research, and it seems that the issue lies in the DCom process being turned off. I followed the instructions on http://support.sas.com/rnd/itech/doc...om_enable.html to enable it, but after trying to expand the "Computers" folder within Component Services, the window just closes and no "Distributed COM Configuration Properties" window appears as stated in the instructions. Thus, I cannot complete the process and enable DCom.

Can someone please help me with this? It seems I've met with dozens of dead ends only mere minutes after the discovery of this problem. Thank you in advance for your help.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old November 24th, 2004, 07:01 AM
zipulrich's Avatar
zipulrich zipulrich is offline
Cyber Tech Help Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Deep South
Age: 14
Posts: 8,732
Do a search (on your computer) for a file called dcomcnfg.
Run it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 24th, 2004, 11:18 PM
boo88 boo88 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
That takes me back to the Component Services window, and after double clicking the Computers folder the window still closes as stated above. But thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 6th, 2005, 11:07 AM
EnderTheThrd EnderTheThrd is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1
Dcom not running

Your problem is with InstallShield (iKernel.exe) which is somehow dependent (probably through RPC) on the Dcom service. Go to start>run, type services.msc.
services.msc lists services in alpha order. Find the one starting in Dcom. Open its properties and set it to start. Also set it to run automatically (so you don't have this problem in the future). Now try installing.
I just found this solution after having the problems you descibed (finally decided to fix it after I couldn't install a video driver).

Two ways this may have been disabled:
a) you visited grc.com (gibson research) and ran dcombobulator or
b) edited services.msc already, possibly after reading a page like BlackViper's,
in which case this is a little familiar.
Hope this fixes it!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 9th, 2005, 02:07 AM
roetorooter roetorooter is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnderTheThrd
Find the one starting in Dcom. Open its properties and set it to start. Also set it to run automatically (so you don't have this problem in the future).
when i try to set it to start, I can't click it, could i get some help?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 20th, 2005, 02:07 AM
philrodd philrodd is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1
Right click, you'll see START.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old July 5th, 2005, 06:48 PM
AKI AKI is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1
Unhappy Same problem here

I am trying to remove a program with the add/remove program option in the control panel.
Then I get the message: The InstallShield Engine (iKernel.exe) cannot be launched. The RPC server is unavailable.

Now I am trying the suggestion:

>Your problem is with InstallShield (iKernel.exe) which is somehow dependent
>(probably through RPC) on the Dcom service. Go to start>run, type >services.msc.
>services.msc lists services in alpha order. Find the one starting in Dcom.

There is no such service. What to do now?

I am also having a problem with the "Upload manager" service: Error 1083.

I am running XP pro

Please help!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old July 16th, 2005, 03:44 AM
AdamBomb AdamBomb is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by AKI
Now I am trying the suggestion:

>Your problem is with InstallShield (iKernel.exe) which is somehow dependent
>(probably through RPC) on the Dcom service. Go to start>run, type >services.msc.
>services.msc lists services in alpha order. Find the one starting in Dcom.

There is no such service. What to do now?
I have the EXACT same problem like, what the heck! i was wondering if there was somwhere i could download the Dcom program from.

Plz Help me too, Adam
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old July 16th, 2005, 07:45 PM
AdamBomb AdamBomb is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12
"Bump" I really need help...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old December 31st, 2006, 01:11 PM
Michael358 Michael358 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
For the "RPC Server unavailable" and iKernel.exe problem:

This is an annoying problem. Here is the solution that worked for me:


1. In the run dialogue, type dcomcnfg. (This may look similiar to things you've already tried, keep going!)
2. Double click on Component Services.
3. Double click Computers.
4. Right click My Computer and press properties.
5. If you see a COM Security tab, click it.
6. In access permissions, click "Edit limits".
7. Click the add button and type "SYSTEM" in all caps, press okay's and apply's.
8. Do the same for the "Launch and Activation" box, which is right below access permissions.

That should work. "SYSTEM" should be allowed by default, though; I'm not sure why it isn't.

Last edited by Michael358; December 31st, 2006 at 01:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old January 15th, 2008, 04:07 AM
rawduke rawduke is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael358 View Post
For the "RPC Server unavailable" and iKernel.exe problem:

This is an annoying problem. Here is the solution that worked for me:


1. In the run dialogue, type dcomcnfg. (This may look similiar to things you've already tried, keep going!)
2. Double click on Component Services.
3. Double click Computers.
4. Right click My Computer and press properties.
5. If you see a COM Security tab, click it.
6. In access permissions, click "Edit limits".
7. Click the add button and type "SYSTEM" in all caps, press okay's and apply's.
8. Do the same for the "Launch and Activation" box, which is right below access permissions.

That should work. "SYSTEM" should be allowed by default, though; I'm not sure why it isn't.

I appear to be having the same problem as "Boo888"
When I get to step # 3, "double click on Computers" the dcomcnfg program just closes. I don't get any further.
Anybody have another idea?
Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old May 28th, 2008, 11:51 PM
MartianPharmacy MartianPharmacy is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
Yeah, i have some games i want to play on my computer but i can't. What can we do if we can't get past step #3? I'm having the same problem as some of these guys.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old July 5th, 2008, 05:05 AM
ckbeme ckbeme is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8
Thank you so much, Rawduke!! I've seen many 'partial' fixes for the RPC problem, but your is the first one I've found that takes the problem all the way to a complete resolution. I've postponed upgrading to SP2 until I built my latest system. I've had 3 or 4 real pain in the xxx probs since SP2.
One of the biggest pains is now fixed.

Thanks again.

Ck
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old October 17th, 2008, 03:06 PM
Miniel Miniel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
O/S: Windows Vista
Location: UK
Posts: 33
Hi, I had this problem myself an hour ago. I followed instructions in this thread and I too had the problem where "computer" would just close the windows.

What I did:

Run dcomcnfg and double click on services which brings up the same alphabetical list. Look for DCOM. Right click and click on "start". The first time I tried it got to about half way then slowed down until it timed out. So the second try I waited until it had started (but not finished), then quickly started up the installation I was trying to install, to my surprise it worked! On restarting the PC I had to restart the dcom service again, but at least I got it to work some shape.

I think it's worth a try for anyone who can't get passed the "computer" window. Not a fix, but a temporary pass at least.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old September 8th, 2009, 08:41 AM
c_sameer c_sameer is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Thanks Michael

It worked for me
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:14 AM.