Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows XP

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old June 9th, 2005, 12:41 AM
anastaciomelero anastaciomelero is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 12
Error: could not find a place for a swap file

Hi.

i've been trying to install Windows XP unto a fresh Hard drive for awhile now and I keep on getting the error: COuld not find a place for a swap file. Can anyone assist me on this issue?

Thank You.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old June 9th, 2005, 02:50 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
Are you using a genuine XP installation CD or a burned copy anastaciomelero? If the latter, thats your problem.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 9th, 2005, 03:08 AM
anastaciomelero anastaciomelero is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 12
Its a burned copy. I have an original, but it does not work at all. It doesn't even load, so I decided to burn a new copy.



Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 9th, 2005, 03:16 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
Have you tested your original on another PC?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 9th, 2005, 03:36 AM
anastaciomelero anastaciomelero is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 12
Yes I have. Its an older disk. I think it wore out or something, because it does not work on any of my computers any more and I have several. I'd also prefer not to pay for an extra, when I already have the Product Key from the original.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 9th, 2005, 06:43 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
Do you have separate licenses for your other XP installations or have you used the same key on your other computers?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old June 9th, 2005, 04:06 PM
anastaciomelero anastaciomelero is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 12
Each computer has there own license and the sticker with the license is on each one of them.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old June 9th, 2005, 04:11 PM
Cornholio_666's Avatar
Cornholio_666 Cornholio_666 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: London
Age: 32
Posts: 186
is the original just got lots of scratches?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old June 9th, 2005, 07:48 PM
anastaciomelero anastaciomelero is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 12
Yeah and some of the data on top of it looks like its faded.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old June 9th, 2005, 11:03 PM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
anastaciomelero, I ran a search however your error message rarely occurs and a fix doesnt seem to be documented. It does seem to only happen when using a copied disk to install XP. Microsoft do have a replacement policy for damaged disks, see here
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old June 10th, 2005, 12:30 AM
anastaciomelero anastaciomelero is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 12
Ok. I think I will go and check that out. I do have another problem though. You see none of my computers are working, and I'm trying to get them fixed. I'm currently using my sisters computer to solve my other computers problems. Basically I have two computers not working. One that has everything in good working matter, except for having an OS, and is which you were helping me on. I also have another computer that needs a new CPU, which can be easily taken care of. Now as to my questions, its about the computer that has everything except a hard drive and what I did was switch the hard drive out of the PC that needs a CPU and installed it into the PC that needs a Hard Drive. Now, it starts working and it goes to a windows screen in which it asks which of the options to choose from. I click on the one that says something like "Start Windows Normally" and then it shows this blue screen with an error: A problem has occured and must shut down? It doesnt give any options on what to do other then check to see if there is a virus or something? ANy help therE?


Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old June 10th, 2005, 12:41 AM
Spider's Avatar
Spider Spider is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 12,862
Go here and get a Windows ME boot disk (winME has more cd-rom drivers) with bootme.exe
stick a floppy in the drive
two-click bootme.exe
when it's done leave it in there
put in one of the XP CDs
reboot (hopefully boot to floppy engages)

After at A: prompt type d: hit enter
type dir hit enter to make sure your "on" the XP CD, if so
type cd i386 hit enter
type winnt hit enter (if she no-go type winnt32 hit enter)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old June 20th, 2005, 01:45 AM
anastaciomelero anastaciomelero is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 12
I tried what you suggested spider and it doesnt work. It starts its install by loading the files its need to install XP and then after its finished, it just stops. It doesnt do anything at all. It just shows something like "Windows XP Setup" and thats it. I also tried installing Windows 98 and as it finished loading its files to install 98, it gets an error and I have to shut down. Any other suggestions?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old June 20th, 2005, 04:12 AM
Spider's Avatar
Spider Spider is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 12,862
Quote:
Originally Posted by anastaciomelero
and then after its finished, it just stops. It doesnt do anything at all. It just shows something like "Windows XP Setup" and thats it.
That is a pause point during the XP install, are you sure it's stopped? How long did you wait?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old June 20th, 2005, 11:26 PM
anastaciomelero anastaciomelero is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 12
I waited about a half an hour or so before I turned it off
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:44 AM.