Cyber Tech Help Support Forums

Cyber Tech Help Support Forums (https://www.cybertechhelp.com/index.php)
-   Hardware (https://www.cybertechhelp.com/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Help me understand... (https://www.cybertechhelp.com/showthread.php?t=99032)

sjat24 December 14th, 2005 05:08 AM

Help me understand...

Memory and hard drive??

I am not very good at explaining things and especially in computer language but I'll try my best.

OK I have 512MB Memory and something like 38.29GB on my hardrive. Ok so now my hard drive is now at 4.48GB left (0%) what is gonna happen, am I out of space or something. At first I thought I am out of memory but I was checking my systme information and it says 232MB used, so I cant be out of memory right? I just dont understand what does memory hold and what does my hard drive hold and now that I am almost of hard drive (i think) whatas gonna happen, what should I do??
Thanks
(did I explain my question well enough?):confused:
Shanna

zipulrich December 14th, 2005 05:39 AM

Hi & welcome.
Basically, you don't "run out of" memory. What you've got is what you've got. Using lots of it is fine - that's what it's there for. Data gets flushed out of your memory whenever you shut your computer down. Simple explanation, but it'll do. ;)
Your hard drive does get filled up over time. That's what holds all your 'stuff'. You can always pick up another hard drive and simply add it to the one you've got, as additional storage. More space to hold your 'stuff'. First, though, why not clean up the drive you've got. Start with a nice program like CrapCleaner <---click here. After you clean things up, run Disk Defrag. Then reboot and see how much hard drive space you've regained.

sjat24 December 14th, 2005 05:59 AM

Thanks for explaining.
If I run disk defrag is that gonna clean out everything I have on there such as my software etc? (from what a heard)