Cyber Tech Help Support Forums

Cyber Tech Help Support Forums (https://www.cybertechhelp.com/index.php)
-   Linux (https://www.cybertechhelp.com/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Beware Mandriva's New Distribution (https://www.cybertechhelp.com/showthread.php?t=197469)

Total Noob May 8th, 2009 10:08 PM

Beware Mandriva's New Distribution

Advice to all concerned:

Use extreme discretion in choosing and upgrading Mandriva One to the latest version.

One does not have a good record with me. My experience started with the downloaded image of the install disk for Mandriva One that does not come with everything it needs to be complete, such as a way to configure your printer. The complete set of useful install files now exceed the size of a CD, but the Mandriva people didn't mention that fact on their site or indicate that a full version downloadable to a DVD would be the correct choice. Presumably later versions will have that problem and it will probably be worse. You will absolutely need a broadband connection to add the half gigabyte or so needed to complete the installation if that is how they do things over there, and you have to know more than what Mandriva says about its own stuff to install successfully.

Then upgrading was hazardous to the point of deadly. I was prompted to upgrade to this year's verson with no explanation of the benefits, and then the installation failed for me and gave no explanation. After many retries with no positive result, and with the Star Menu disabled, I tried forced rebooting, and that failed, computer could not load kde. Click OK on that error notice, and it meanders to the same error notice. So now the old version that I worked plenty of hours to get up and running is gone too, and I have no idea if my data is recoverable.

By contrast, the recent Ubuntu upgrade went reasonably smoothly, though it did take many hours to accomplish while my computer was unavailable for other purposes.